CyberLink Community Forum
PD9 Ultra64 - Component Activation Errors  XML
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Author Message
JeffHbk

Newbie

Joined: 30/12/2010 14:18:59
Messages: 2
Offline

Hi All -

I just purchased and installed PD9 Ultra64 a few days ago. This is my 1st experience with Cyberlink. I keep getting two pop ups when I load AVCHD files; 'H.264 Component Activation' and 'MPEG2 Component Activation'. They give me an Activate or Try Now option. I have been clicking Activate but am now getting an error 'Codec Activation Incomplete' and my files fail to load.

Has anyone else seen this? I have 2330a installed.

I opened a Support Ticket but got no response.

Thanks

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 01/01/2011 07:44:17

PepsiMan

Newbie

Joined: 28/12/2010 22:20:39
Messages: 32
Location: Clarksville, TN
Offline

hello, jeff. happy new year

my experience is that you have to be online when you click on the activate. i got notified twice about activating h.264 & mpeg2. i don't get the notifications anymore.

happy editing. happy happy joy joy!
PepsiMan

'no bridge too far'
slooooowride

Newbie

Joined: 11/02/2011 09:28:17
Messages: 4
Offline

Jef;
f I'm having the same issue, did you find any way to work around it or find a fix.

Thanks

Craig
jfink

Newbie

Joined: 14/02/2011 17:43:51
Messages: 5
Offline

I am having the same problem. I am connected to the internet, I am trying to load an H.264 MP4 file created by a GoPro Camera, when I try to open it, I get this message:

"You must first activate this feature before using it. Connect to the internet (which I am) and then try again. Activation is a free and quick process. H.264 - Component activation

Remaining: 26 days (down from 31)

Then in the next box I get:

Codec activation incomplete. This may be because the Internet connection was disconnected (it wasn't), or the program activation key is invalid or reached its activation limit (not sure what this means).

Any help is appreciated
just_for_fun

Member

Joined: 23/01/2010 08:41:10
Messages: 108
Offline

Had same issue. Uninstalled, cleaned the registry, re-installed, installed update, then it worked.

Just For Fun
i7 Core@3.8ghz 6gig mem 3 HDD geForce8400
Canon HF S20
Snowrider52

Newbie

Joined: 29/11/2010 07:59:02
Messages: 4
Location: Idaho
Offline

Okay, just to add my voice to the chorus it's the same experience. Bought PD 9 ultra 64 on a disc, loaded, activated in the installation process and then when trying to use get the component activation error/incomplete etc messages. Unable to render/save the project. I was online, did both "activate" and "try again". Haven't done jfink's uninstall, clean registry, re-install etc. What do you mean by "clean registry" ?

I'll check back in day or so and hope there is an answer that works.

/Larry
GREG

Newbie

Joined: 17/01/2011 19:00:25
Messages: 2
Offline

Mine just expired & I can't import MPEG2, H.264 files into PD9 ULTRA. It's horrible. I spent $100 (Ultra version) on this. I love this program. It worked fine & then this occured. After several different kinds of installs. I used a variety of combinations too. Still same old message comes up.

H.264 - Component activation
Remaining 0 days

I followed the steps technical support gave me which was this;

1. Unistall program. I even used Revo to get all files off.
2. Use Ccleaner which I had to download from Cyberlink.
3. Use new downloaded version (from Cyberlink).
4. Reinstalled & still a useless program.

I am working with M2ts files & that is why I got this program. Now I am limited to using still jpegs, png, & audio files. It's too bad.

Anyone have any ideas how to resolve this?
Technical support has not contacted me in a week.

thank you
slooooowride

Newbie

Joined: 11/02/2011 09:28:17
Messages: 4
Offline

Hi guys;
I got good news I got it to work today. both of the messages we were getting are gone.

OK here is what I did.
1. uninstall program
2. Ran cCleaner for registery clean up
3.restarted system
4 reinstalled program off my retail disc
5. Then I upgraded to version (build 2504)
6. Started program, PowerDirector9, this time when I was asked to input my activacition CD Key it said it was wrong, it wouldn't work!
7. started all over again
8. uninstalled powerdirector 9
9. ran cCleaner on registery clean up
10. Restarted system
11 reinstalled program off my retail disc
12 This time I started the program, PowerDirector9 before I installed new version or builds from cyberlink website.
13 This time my cd key worked fine
14 Then I upgraded to version (build 2330a)
15.Every thing when smooth as silk the messages never came up
16 I haven't dare to go to version (build 2504) yet, just glad its working now.
17 The day count down is gone.

I hope this works for you guys, I could get no help from cyberlink. They seemed to think I had a scammed version of their software. Mine was retail which I bought on line.

I will keep and eye on this feed and will give more info if I can.

GOOD LUCK
jfink

Newbie

Joined: 14/02/2011 17:43:51
Messages: 5
Offline

Hmmm ... worth a try. This is one thing I find very frustrating, the answer "... well mine is working fine!" When you spend this kind of money for an application, you expect it to work out of the box. Editing or cleaning up the registry isn't what I would call a normal installation process. Ok, so where is this cCleaner you speak of? I did a search on the site and it turned up nothing.

Thanks for the help guys.
HalCon

Senior Contributor

Joined: 01/03/2008 07:36:09
Messages: 694
Location: Charlottetown, PEI
Offline

jfink wrote:Hmmm ... worth a try. This is one thing I find very frustrating, the answer "... well mine is working fine!" When you spend this kind of money for an application, you expect it to work out of the box. Editing or cleaning up the registry isn't what I would call a normal installation process. Ok, so where is this cCleaner you speak of? I did a search on the site and it turned up nothing.

Thanks for the help guys.

jfink

Have a look here for the cleaner, Cleaner software which assist re-installation when an error has occurred

Hal

OS - Win7 Pro, MB - Asus P8Z77-V, CPU - Intel Core I7-3770 @ 3.40GHz (8 CPUs), 16g RAM, Video - ATI - HD7770, PD9 & PD10 & PD11
My YouTube
[Email] [WWW]
jfink

Newbie

Joined: 14/02/2011 17:43:51
Messages: 5
Offline

Thanks for the help Halcon. Unfortunately no joy. When through the whole process as described and it did nothing. In fact the days are still counting down with the same 25 days left.
slooooowride

Newbie

Joined: 11/02/2011 09:28:17
Messages: 4
Offline

cCleaner can also be found here-http://www.piriform.com/

download and install, click on registry tab on the left hand side. Make sure all boxes are checked, hit scan for Issues. Once it shows problems click on Fix selected issues button, it will ask if you want to back up registery, I never have never seen a need to in this application but you can if you wish. Next window click on fix all issues, then click close. Do this 2 or 3 times on til no more problems show up. Close program and restart computer and reinstall PowerDirector9.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 15/02/2011 19:36:17

jfink

Newbie

Joined: 14/02/2011 17:43:51
Messages: 5
Offline

<frustration>Thanks slooooowide, it looks like it would be excellent software, but I'm afraid I don't want to spend another $25 trying to fix a problem that should have not happened in the first place. I completely uninstalled my PD9 Ultra 64 ran Cclean (from Cyberlink) both program and SmartSound, reinstalled and same message. I may just contact my seller and send it back. There has to be something out there that can edit MP4 files that are native to my GoPro Hero HD camera without jumping through hoops.</frustration>
slooooowride

Newbie

Joined: 11/02/2011 09:28:17
Messages: 4
Offline

Sorry you havn't had any luck yet. I did miss one item that I did, that could make a difference.

I paused my Anti virus and firewall, I use Kaspersky internet security and they have tab that you click to pause your protection while you do these types of things. I don't know if that had any thing to do with it but give it one more try. I think this is a great program and it seems very easy to use and I'm new at video. Hope this is the trick that will make your software usable.

Craig

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 16/02/2011 06:34:30

Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 9965
Offline

Hi jfink,

What build version did you purchase from "your seller", I don't see you've mentioned that anywhere?

" I may just contact my seller and send it back. " Who is that if i may ask please?



Thanks

Dafydd

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 16/02/2011 02:41:00


For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
jfink

Newbie

Joined: 14/02/2011 17:43:51
Messages: 5
Offline

I am not exactly sure what version I have but I bought it "used" off of Ebay, but I have down loaded and installed the most recent update (I forgot to add that piece). The error message I get is "Codec activation incomplete. This may be because the Internet connection was disconnected (not the problem) or the program activation key is invalid (which it is not since it worked when I loaded the program) or reached its activation limit (...hmmmm). "

I wonder if the person I bought this from used all the activation credits for loading these codecs?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 18/02/2011 08:36:28

Ramsey19

Newbie

Joined: 18/02/2011 08:19:54
Messages: 2
Offline

I am having this issue as well. I bought 10 copies from Amazon.com- to use in my classroom. I bought Power Director 9, Deluxe edition. They were NEW unopened retail boxes.

I am willing to provide screenshots, diagnostic files, etc- whatever you need. I have not updated the program to the new version yet.

I am having a lot of problems just trying to get this program installed, activated, and ready to use. I spent pretty much my entire classroom budget on this software. I can't get a refund, and if I can't get this working- it seriously could get me written up at the least and possibly terminated.

Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 9965
Offline

Hi both,
You both need to contact Technical Support:
https://membership.cyberlink.com/prog/support/cs/index.do

I'm curious (and you'll need to tell TS) to know what build of PD9 you both have.

Open PD and
select the "?" and then
select from the drop down "About CyberLink PowerDirector"
Next, copy the Full name of the version you have and the build number.
For example mine gives:
PowerDirector Ultra64 9.0.0.2504
SR number: VDE101208-05

The information of the installed product NOT the patched or upgrade build.

Dafydd

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 18/02/2011 09:14:56


For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
1Nina

Senior Contributor

Joined: 08/10/2008 01:12:35
Messages: 855
Location: Norway, 250km southwest of Oslo
Offline

Hi,

I'm reading your thread here.
You would think there will be a "hidden fix" somewhere.
I have never bought a "used" program, so I wouldn't know
about experiences with that. My Win7, though, was bought on
Ebay, nothing wrong with it (out-of-the-box).
(People buy a lot of stuff on Ebay, I understand...)

Ramsey;
your post caught my eye. Is your purchace for the classroom
the usual way? Just wondering.....
Where I teach, the usual way to buy software for the classroom
is to buy 1 disc, and then a number of licenses.

Nina

Go to PDtoots for PowerDirector Tutorials.
My YT PetitPoisVideo
Website petitpoisvideo.com
[WWW]
Ramsey19

Newbie

Joined: 18/02/2011 08:19:54
Messages: 2
Offline

I didn't find that option, we do ussually do that, buy 1 product and licences to use it, but we aren't allowed to just buy something, we have 2234239483294823948 layers of beauracracy to deal with, and after half a year, and all the problems, that is just how it came to me... 10 boxes with product.
GREG

Newbie

Joined: 17/01/2011 19:00:25
Messages: 2
Offline

I FOUND A FIX.

I was told by a computer tech to do a new clean full windows install. However, I looked into it & realized that I did not have a disk with a serial number.

But, his key words were "partiton" it to another drive. I thought, mmm. Isn't my other Windows user names partitioned too? So I gave it a shot & tried to use PD9 on my other user name and WALLAH....I was able to activate it.

Man, this has been some headache trying to figure out.
So the fix is this. I have Windows Vista 64bit & running build 2504.

1. Pull up PD 9 on your other user name (you know switch user). If you don't have one, create one.
2. You should be able to activate it & that trial thing will go away. God Bless my tech buddy...!!!
_________________________________

Now this is opinion.
I recommend that if you download the trial version, use it on other another Windows user name. Somehow there is something still in the registry (even after you clean it & uninstall it) that will not go away & thus still treats it as a trial.

I hope this works for everyone.
1Nina

Senior Contributor

Joined: 08/10/2008 01:12:35
Messages: 855
Location: Norway, 250km southwest of Oslo
Offline

Greg wrote:


Now this is opinion.
I recommend that if you download the trial version, use it on other another Windows user name. Somehow there is something still in the registry (even after you clean it & uninstall it) that will not go away & thus still treats it as a trial.


When reading this I'm thinking it's a good piece of information!
Odd, but never the less something to be aware of.
When it comes to partitions, well - some have multiple drives and can even have
dual boot, some partition 1 large drive, but I guess "most people" still have 1
drive to use as is (?).

Ramsey, I'm still thinking about your problem.
How are you getting on?

Nina

Go to PDtoots for PowerDirector Tutorials.
My YT PetitPoisVideo
Website petitpoisvideo.com
[WWW]
JeffHbk

Newbie

Joined: 30/12/2010 14:18:59
Messages: 2
Offline

This was resolved. I forgot to post a follow up. They sent the message below. The links to the cleaner tool and software are not loger working. They provided a temp login.

-Jeff

Dear Jeff,

Thank you for contacting CyberLink Technical Support.

I understand that you are using CyberLink PowerDirector 9 Ultra and you are getting error.

In response to your concern, I suggest you to download the CyberLink Cleaner tool from the link given below and then try to uninstall and reinstall the software :

Steps

1.Run CLCleaner_PDR.exe (when "Thank you" pops up, your registry of PowerDirector has been cleaned up)
2.Redownlaod PowerDirector 9 software.
3.Install PowerDirector. (even when the previous version still exists)
To resolve your issue, I provide you a download link for PowerDirector 9 (latest build) (Full Version).

I suggest you to download the single file for PowerDirector 9.0 from the link below:
PowerDirector 9.0 (build: 2316)Ultra64: (596 MB)
jlivae

Newbie

Joined: 03/03/2011 03:04:14
Messages: 1
Offline

Please, anyone....

I had a PD7 preinstalled in my Window 7. I bought a PD9 via download. When installing the program Erron 1603 came up. The installation wizard help me install. But when the wizard detected my previous PD7 it uninstalled the program automaticly. Now when installation failed I have nothing. I am loosing $72.34 if this is the case. I did happen to write down my License Key.

What can I do now, can someone, anyone help me out here.
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 9965
Offline

Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko wrote:Hi both,
You need to contact Technical Support:
https://membership.cyberlink.com/prog/support/cs/index.do
Dafydd

For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
 
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team
© 2013 CyberLink Corp. All Rights Reserved. [ Terms of Services | About CyberLink | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map RSS