CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
No Audio for .mts files imported into PowerDirector 18
Reply to this topic
CLo [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Mar 27, 2020 22:33 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,
I've used PowerDirector 9 for many years with no issues in regards to importing and editing .mts files. I upgraded to PowerDirector 18 earlier this year and, in this version, if I attempt to import .mts files I get an error msg in regards to the audio, and can only edit the video of the .mts file. If I immediatly import those same .mts files into my old PowerDirector 9, there are no issues. I've used PowerDirector 18 quite extensively in the months that I've had it and haven't run into any other problems. Any help is much appreciated, thank you.

I'm going to attach dxdiag info and a screenshot of the error msg.

The error msg reads: "An error occured while opening this media file. It may have unsupported or protected audio, or it could be for another reason. You may continue editing the video part of the file only."
[Thumb - PowerDirector error msg.jpg]
 Filename
PowerDirector error msg.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
PowerDirector error msg
 Filesize
56 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
21 time(s)
 Filename
DxDiag.txt
[Disk]
 Description
DxDiag.txt
 Filesize
36 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
72 time(s)
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 5030 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Hi,
I've used PowerDirector 9 for many years with no issues in regards to importing and editing .mts files. I upgraded to PowerDirector 18 earlier this year and, in this version, if I attempt to import .mts files I get an error msg in regards to the audio, and can only edit the video of the .mts file. If I immediatly import those same .mts files into my old PowerDirector 9, there are no issues. I've used PowerDirector 18 quite extensively in the months that I've had it and haven't run into any other problems. Any help is much appreciated, thank you.

I'm going to attach dxdiag info and a screenshot of the error msg.

The error msg reads: "An error occured while opening this media file. It may have unsupported or protected audio, or it could be for another reason. You may continue editing the video part of the file only."

This link will be of interest to you: https://www.cyberlink.com/support/product-faq-content.do?id=24372&prodId=4&prodVerId=1417&CategoryId=-1 Basically a new "feature" of PD18.

Jeff
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 5793 Offline
[Post New]
I have to say that you have taken good care of this computer. Still have the original SSD and ATI graphics card with the original driver. You can still use the PD9 with hardware encoding of mpeg-2, wmv, and h.264 productions.
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7089 Offline
[Post New]
SInce the issue is likely what Jeff suggested and your clips are encoded using Dolby Digital, you can do what tomasc suggested and stick with PD9; use a free 3rd party app like Handbrake, VirtualDub2 or VLC to convert the clips' audio to another format; or upgrade your PC to Win10 to add the necessary Dolby Digital functionality to PD18.

YouTube/optodata


DS365 | Win10 Pro | Ryzen 9 3950X | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 10TB SSDs | 5K+4K HDR monitors

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Hulk Prime [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jan 13, 2019 23:03 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
Hey,

Not sure if you guys are still having issues, but I finally fixed mine using the help on this page (unfortunately the new Hotfix didn't help so had to find another way and found this)

https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/84986.page

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at May 29. 2021 02:59

Reply
Roopull [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 16, 2020 14:05 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Hey,

Not sure if you guys are still having issues, but I finally fixed mine using the help on this page (unfortunately the new Hotfix didn't help so had to find another way and found this)

https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/84986.page


You saved me!

I need to buy you a coffee or something!
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team