CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Dot (.) MOV Format Clips - There used to be a concern about .....
Reply to this topic
CS2014
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA-Eastern Time Zone Joined: Sep 16, 2014 16:44 Messages: 629 Offline
[Post New]
... using them as there was some sort of security risk - this was a few years ago when I was much more actively editing.

Does this still exist today?

I have MP4 and .MOV clips that I want to import into my PD13 editor and then go about editing. I may be online when I do that. Does the security risk still exist for using .MOV clips now? .... and please confirm there is no security risk using them (.MOV clips) in PD13 while I'm online then???

( I think I may have asked this some time ago ... apologies if you are one that offends easily)


Thanks

CS

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 28. 2018 17:19

PD13 Ultimate - Build 3516, WIN 8.1, 64 Bit, 16G RAM, Intel Core i5 4460, CPU @ 3.2GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GT720, Graphics Memory(total avail.)-4093MB
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray Drive
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9947 Offline
[Post New]
Hi CS2014 -

Relax - there's no issue with .MOV files. The issue was/is with Quicktime, when Apple stopped supporting it.

BTW, I have QT installed and there have been no issues (I know of).

Do your .MOV files import & play back correctly in PDR? If so, carry on & save your concerns for something else laughing

Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
CS2014
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA-Eastern Time Zone Joined: Sep 16, 2014 16:44 Messages: 629 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Hi CS2014 -

Relax - there's no issue with .MOV files. The issue was/is with Quicktime, when Apple stopped supporting it.

BTW, I have QT installed and there have been no issues (I know of).

Do your .MOV files import & play back correctly in PDR? If so, carry on & save your concerns for something else laughing

Cheers - Tony



Hey Tony!

Nice to see you're still around!

Yes .MOV clips seem to play just fine in the editor from the timeline. So I'm set to go then.

Thanks for responding Tony - puts the mind at ease!

CS PD13 Ultimate - Build 3516, WIN 8.1, 64 Bit, 16G RAM, Intel Core i5 4460, CPU @ 3.2GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GT720, Graphics Memory(total avail.)-4093MB
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray Drive
Reply
MAA [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jul 18, 2018 03:56 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
I have PD 12.

It does not play .MOV files.


Do I need to get some kind of codec or patch?

Do you know where to get it?
Reply
CS2014
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA-Eastern Time Zone Joined: Sep 16, 2014 16:44 Messages: 629 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I have PD 12.

It does not play .MOV files.


Do I need to get some kind of codec or patch?

Do you know where to get it?






It might be best to start a new thread specific to you issue MAA.

Tell us what OS and details about your build, etc - like the information requested in the posts listed about how you can get help here.

CS PD13 Ultimate - Build 3516, WIN 8.1, 64 Bit, 16G RAM, Intel Core i5 4460, CPU @ 3.2GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GT720, Graphics Memory(total avail.)-4093MB
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray Drive
Reply
MAA [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jul 18, 2018 03:56 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Quote






It might be best to start a new thread specific to you issue MAA.

Tell us what OS and details about your build, etc - like the information requested in the posts listed about how you can get help here.

CS


Windows 10 Home edition

Power Director 12.0.3403.0

I am not able to import .MOV files or edit them.

How can i do that?
Reply
CS2014
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA-Eastern Time Zone Joined: Sep 16, 2014 16:44 Messages: 629 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


Windows 10 Home edition

Power Director 12.0.3403.0

I am not able to import .MOV files or edit them.

How can i do that?




START A NEW THREAD.

This one has been "Solved" so the really good guys that know how to help you will most likely not see you request here in this one.

CS PD13 Ultimate - Build 3516, WIN 8.1, 64 Bit, 16G RAM, Intel Core i5 4460, CPU @ 3.2GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GT720, Graphics Memory(total avail.)-4093MB
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray Drive
Reply
The Shadowman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: UK Joined: Dec 15, 2014 13:06 Messages: 1831 Offline
[Post New]
Quote




START A NEW THREAD.

This one has been "Solved" so the really good guys that know how to help you will most likely not see you request here in this one.

CS


MAA

As CS said you should really start a new thread. However, Just a quickie that may help you. Do you have Quicktime installed? If not try installing it. PD will work with MOVs if Quicktime is there. Panny TM10, GH2, GH4,
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team