Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Fade Transition without Audio Fade?
See2Dee [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Mar 20, 2016 16:11 Messages: 16 Offline
[Post New]
Hi, I'm new to PD14, having cut my teeth on Serif's MoviePlus X6.

I've been playing with transitions and recently had a situation where I wanted the audio to remain steady during a fade transition. I understand from PD Support that it's not possible to de-link the audio from the video in transitions. I found that even if I de-linked the video and audio tracks, then tried to apply the transition to the video track only, it still affected the audio.

Is there some way to create a fade transition that applies to the video track only. The only way I can figure to do what I want is to create a freeze frame at the end of the one clip and beginning of the next, then apply the Fade to the intersect of those. But this seems very clumsy to me - not practical if needing to do it repeatedly.

I haven't had too much time to explore this and have a feeling I may be making it more complicated than necessary. So I'm trusting there's a high tolerance for dumb questions on this forum....

Thank you
Richmond Dan
Senior Contributor Location: Richmond, VA Joined: Aug 07, 2014 17:17 Messages: 673 Offline
[Post New]
I just tried it and it worked fine:

Put video and audio on timeline. Unlink them. Split the video (only) where you want the transition to begin. Remove the part of the video past the split. Insert the new video or still image to which you want to transition just after the remaining part of the video. Apply the fade to the video. Play the result...video fades from one image to the next, audio continues. Regards,
Dan