CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
System requirements for PD 10
Reply to this topic
JJlittle [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Australia Joined: May 23, 2012 00:36 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
Hello, I am new here and not very knowledgeable about computers. I am planning to purchase Powerdirector 10 and have read about some people having problems with it as their PC doesn't meet the system requirements for this program. I have looked through everything and it appears that my laptop will be okay but being computer illiterate I would like to make sure. Would someone mind checking my attachment and advising if my system is ok for Powerdirector 10 and if not what I need to do to update it.

Thank you.

Apologies if this is a stupid request. I am not familiar with the world of forums and trying to get my head around all this computer stuff :
 Filename
aimDxDiag.rar
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
8 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
347 time(s)
Reply
babindia
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: India Joined: Aug 16, 2007 06:11 Messages: 884 Offline
[Post New]
Your specs seems OK. For Full HD I would prefer a 8 GB RAM. Can your laptop display 1980x1080 resolution PC specs :
OS Windows 10.0 Pro
MB - AS rock Z77 extreme 11
Intel 3770K @ 4.0 Ghz OC
Gskill 32 GB RAM 1800 Mhz
6 TB HDD, SSD bootable
nVidia ASUS GTX 660 Ti
BenQ 22" LCD monitor 1920x1080

Reply
JJlittle [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Australia Joined: May 23, 2012 00:36 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
Thank you very much for your fast reply BabIndia. I just checked my screen resolution and it seems the highest it can go is 1366x768. Would this be okay?

I am not planning to do anything super professional. Just putting together things like dvds of my child's sporting highlights and other amateur family stuff . Most of the footage I use will be from my video camera which ends up as MTS files when I transfer it to my computer.
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Hi JJlittle

Welcome to the forum

I'm on MacBook and I'm unable to open the RAR file.

However, I edit using my PC laptop - my specs are on my signature

Happy editing

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at May 23. 2012 04:15

Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
[Post New]
JJlittle;

I suggest that you search for and install new VIDEO DRIVERS. Yours are almost 3 years old. This should be done on the AMD site. I know more about Nvidia, so I will wait for the ATI folks to find you and guide you here.

I use MTS files all the time, without problems.

CubbyHouseFilms;

Try http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/17741/rar-expander or http://www.unrarx.com/

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at May 23. 2012 14:13

Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks Fred Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
JJlittle [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Australia Joined: May 23, 2012 00:36 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
Wow, thanks everyone. Great to know there is so much support available. I will do something about my video drivers and no doubt will be back with more questions once I actually start using PD10.

Thanks again
Reply
babindia
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: India Joined: Aug 16, 2007 06:11 Messages: 884 Offline
[Post New]
JJlittle
Since your maximum display is 1366x768,you can create and watch 1280x720 HD only. You can,however, render
1980x1080. PC specs :
OS Windows 10.0 Pro
MB - AS rock Z77 extreme 11
Intel 3770K @ 4.0 Ghz OC
Gskill 32 GB RAM 1800 Mhz
6 TB HDD, SSD bootable
nVidia ASUS GTX 660 Ti
BenQ 22" LCD monitor 1920x1080

Reply
peleus [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: May 10, 2012 11:53 Messages: 58 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks. I'll go ahead and try this out. Hopefully it will be good news.
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team