Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
What is the best quality to "Produce" with.
Aaron Richards [Avatar]
Newbie Location: Australia Joined: Jan 21, 2010 16:20 Messages: 24 Offline
[Post New]
Hi, I am quite new to Video Editing. I have a Canon HF S11, 1920 x 1080 Full HD camera, and a new laptop with a i7 processor and a Blu Ray burner. I also have a HD Plasma TV and a HD projector, and a seperate Sony Bly Ray player (hooked up to the TV and Projector)

My question is, what is the best format to use in "Produce" to get the best picture quality, and to be able to play on my AV system. My Sony Blu Ray player says it will play AVCHD files.

From what I can work out. If I produce using the AVC .264 format onto a Blu Ray disk, that will be the best quality picture. Is this correct ?

Also what is the best quality for if I want to Burn a project to a DVD (Standard Definition) for friends who dont have a Blu Ray player ? Is MPEG2 the best for SD playback, or can I burn AVCHD files to a Standard Definition DVD, or is .AVI or .WMV a better option ?

I Just dont fully understand all the different formats to "Produce" under.

Thanks

Aaron

[Post New]
Blue Ray 1920x1080 (in my opinion) should produce the highest quality video. It has the highest bitrate of 25mln bits per second. I have not tried it yet to confirm by comparing it to the original video straight from my Sony HD that records in 1080i. I am still waiting for the prices of BD-burners to go down. For now, I am producing AVC files, copy them onto a portable media and watching them on Playstation 3 through USB. Read not to contradict and confute, nor to believe and take for granted... but to weigh and consider.