Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
LAPTOP USERS – POWERDIRECTOR 8
Stephen [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Dec 12, 2009 07:05 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Hi, laptop users. I’m new to this application and also working on laptops. I want to use a laptop for the portability etc. Can anyone advise me on the suitability of the following specification of a laptop in order to edit video using PowerDirector 8. Will it run like a dream?

LAPTOP:
Intel® Core™2 Duo P7450, 2.13 GHz, Front Side Bus : 066 MHz, 2nd level cache : 3 MB
Memory: 4,096 MB
Hard Disk: 500 GB, drive rotation : 5,400 rpm

I guess my main concern is the rpm of the hard disc. I realise laptops are not great for “top end” professional video editing but would the above be man enough for the job? (ie. work without any significant performance issues)

Or should I go for a desktop?

Any advice gratefully received, thanks in anticipation.

Steve.
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6240 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Stephen,
I have been using a Toshiba laptop for 3 years without anything to blame on PD. Well, more specifically, PD8, 7 had it's issues.
I have C2D Centrino 1.6/1.6 and 3 megs ram.
5400rpm.
My preview can be choppy, and I cannot do HD video, except in tiny bits.
SD video, no problem at all. I have made hundreds of videos and you should have no issues in SD.
You get more bang-for-the-buck with a desktop, and you can upgrade it, but you can't lay in bed with a desktop.

I am just now shopping for a new machine and I am
going with a Quad core or I7 with 7200 rpm and a dedicated video card.
If you can afford it, get a laptop with those things, the future is in HD.