Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Photos turn out blurred.
PatC [Avatar]
Senior Member Location: Suffolk UK Joined: Nov 17, 2009 14:00 Messages: 156 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,
I have been using PD8 for a couple of months now and am getting disappointing results due to blurred photos in the finished result.
I am transferring a mixture of digital photos and video to DVD for viewing on TV.
The digital photos are typically 6megapixel jpegs and the video is standard definition in 16:9 widescreen format.
As soon as the photos are moved to the timeline the media viewer immediately shows a reduction in clarity.
I have experimented with the sample clips supplied by CL and the train.jpg shows the effect very clearly.
If the train.jpg is viewed while in the library the name on the front of the train "Glacier Express" is very clear.
As soon as the photo is placed on the timeline the name is noticably blurred.
This blurring is visible when the finished DVD is viewed on TV.
As the photos are neither 4:3 or 16:9 I have tried crop, letterbox, stretch and CLPV but still the results are poor.

I have tried feeding PD8 with jpg, bmp, png, and tif photos but the blurring still occurs. I have resized and resampled photos files but to no avail.

Note: The results for the video portions from DVD are not as clear as when the camera is connected directly to the TV (even though this means the video is being converted to composite analogue) but does not appear to be degraded as much as the photo clips.

Does anyone know if there is a particular magic file type, size or resolution that gives better results.

Regards PatC
CubbyHouseFilms