Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PD8 capturing from VCR
Valerie [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Sep 18, 2009 03:33 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
Hi, a non-tech newbie here. I'm a 60yr old so a bit slow on the uptake and take a while to absorb technical stuff.

OK, where to start. I am starting out converting my VHS tapes to DVD. My system:

Vista Home Premium SP1
Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q6600@2.40GHz 2.39GFz
4Gb RAM
32 bit OS

I have the following video capture device (I think that's what this is) which was purchased when I upgraded my computer last year:

VIA OHCI Compliant IEEE1394 Host Controller

Earlier this year I purchased a Kaiserbaas device which came with PD6 software. I was hooking up my VCR just fine and have already captured some of my videos and burned them to DVD.

I was experiencing difficulty with PD6 – it kept crashing. I tried the usual uninstall of all Cyberlink software through Control Panel and reinstalled from the CD.

No luck. After finding the software was now up to PD8 I decided to bite the bullet and upgrade, which I did via download.

Now when I hook up the same way through the Kaiserbaas device and click Capture in PD8 there is no option to capture from a VCR. The Kaiserbaas connector flashes, so I’m presuming the software is finding the device.

Looking through the forum I may certainly have missed another post about this, but it does seem that I should be able to capture from a VCR as others have mentioned other issues capturing VHS tapes.
I have tried watching different ways to connect to the computer on YouTube, but still no luck.