Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
What is TV Safe Area in PD8?
Alexpho [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Nov 10, 2009 20:59 Messages: 18 Offline
[Post New]
Hi guys. I am a newbie and in the middle of editing my vacation HD videos to blu ray. Slowly but surely, I am getting there.

One of my issues is this " TV SAFE " area. My original clips are in MTS files 16x9 aspect ratio. I have also clicked on 16x9 on the preference menu. After burning the disk I popped the disc in the BR player.

I was to surprised to see that the other edges were clipped off. For example, getting like 85 percent of the video on the TV screen. When I was editing, I was putting titles on the corner of the video. Half of the words are now cut of.

Is there a way to fix this or turn something off?? Who the heck would not want a full original 16x9 video of there HD work??
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6240 Offline
[Post New]
As you may know, many of today's tv's have different viewing options, 16:9, 4:3, justify, zoom.
Try changing your set's view option if possible.
Best thing to keep in mind is
keep important images and titles within the TV safe area.

Personally, the TV safe option and gridlines should be part of the Preferences because I'd like to keep it on.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Nov 18. 2009 10:25

HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)
Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5.
Tape capture using 6 VCR, TBC-1000, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/BarryAFTT
Alexpho [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Nov 10, 2009 20:59 Messages: 18 Offline