Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
How to use PhotoDirector "Projects"?
TimBikes [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Jun 12, 2017 02:22 Messages: 19 Offline
[Post New]
As a PhotoDirector newbie, I was wondering how others are using the "Projects" tab? I have about 150k+ family photos, in maybe a 500 or more folders (typically named in a YYYY-MM - subject fashion) that I've accumulated over the past 20 years and want to make sure I get PhotoDirector set up initially in the most optimal way to manage those.

My guess is that separate Projects might be more for someone like a wedding photographer, where each "Project" represents a client.

In my case, does it make sense to add all of our family photos into a single Project? Are there pros/cons to doing a single vs. multiple projects in this case?

Lastly - any known issues with PhotoDirector managing a 150k+ image library?
[Post New]
Hello Tim,

With such a large collection of photos I can see how an application like Picasa would have suited your needs, particularly with its ability to scan/monitor your photo folders. PhD doesn't do that, as we've previously discussed.

My guess is that separate Projects might be more for someone like a wedding photographer, where each "Project" represents a client.

My use of PhD may not be typical, but I have separate projects that are based on events, travels etc. Typically, therefore, my projects are populated with no more than 3000 photos & mostly considerably less. So my use of projects would be akin to your wedding photographer example.