Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Mouth Smacks
Back2TheBike [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Dec 26, 2019 04:20 Messages: 33 Offline
[Post New]
I'm new to AudioDirector and have recently subscribed to PD365.
I have recently recorded a 15 min voiceover. Listening back, it's full of mouth smacks, loud clicks made by lips or tongue.
Is there a simple method to use AD to silence these? As a newbie I've gone through the whole file, using the yellow timeline sliders to select the clicks, then right clicked, and used the menu to 'silence' that piece. Time consuming!
My hope is there's an automated work-around or plug-in that can be applied.
Thanks
Neil
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 6464 Offline
[Post New]
You need to place a pop filter between the mic and mouth to reduce or stop these noises from being recorded. They are relatively inexpensive. That would be ideal.
Back2TheBike [Avatar]
[Post New]
Thanks for the response.
I'm using a lav mic so that's not an option unfortunately! Also, the 'click' is quite loud, distinctive, so I dont think this would work.
optodata
Senior Contributor Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 8630 Offline
[Post New]
I've had to do that manually in PD, and it is time consuming. Honestly it sounds like your approach is reasonable, although it's worth giving the Click Removal and Plossive Removal tools from the Restore page a try.

The other option would be to go back a re-record your narration after practicing speaking for a while in a way that reduces the unwanted sounds.
Back2TheBike [Avatar]
[Post New]
OptoData