Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Poor CPU & GPU Utilisation on a machine built for rendering?
[Post New]
Hello all,

I have been using PowerDirector for about 13 years now (I'm a hobbiest videographer and PC builder) and now on PD17. I recently built a ridiculous rig (Skylake X 7960X 32 thread, OC'ed to 4.5Ghz all core, 32GB Trident Z Royal, GTX 1080, Samsung 970 Pro). I am OCD with my PC building and driver maintainence, and have seen this thing do 100% using all 32GB of ram at times on monster compression jobs. I have no system bottlenecks.

I've seen some posts on the internet about PD being optimised for low-end market PCs. Is this true with why I rarely see my hardware being hit at all now during PD rendering? CPU often sits at 20%, (very sometimes 50% depending on the job) and similar with the GTX.

I'm currently doing a very heavy long render including video speedup, image enhancing, titles, music, overlays, the lot (1920x1080 50p 28Mbit/s). As attached image, CPU is at 9%, Memory at 8.3GB (25%), Disk at 3%, GPU at 50% (Encode 2%, Decode 50%).

Should I be expecting more? Or is it upgrade to Adobe Premier time?

Any pointers?

Cheers guys
Mark
[Thumb - Capture.PNG]
 Filename
Capture.PNG
[Disk]
 Description
Task Manager
 Filesize
87 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
5 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 25. 2020 16:06

Mark
www.ravenstorm.co.uk
System: Win7 64bit, i7 2600K @ 4.3GHz. GTX 680. 16GB RAM. Revodrive 3 x2 480GB. Nvidia Drivers v331.65
Software: Powerdirector Ultra 11
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 6091 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Should I be expecting more?