Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PowerDirector 18 Effects
Esmeweatherwax [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Feb 03, 2020 07:50 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
Hi, I'm an absolute beginner and I am having an issue with the effects. When I drop an effect into the effects track it comes up with only a limited number of options. When I put the effect into the video there are all the options but I don't know how to change the duration of the effect. Shouldn't I get all the effects options either way? Can someone help?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Feb 03. 2020 13:41

JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 6091 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Hi, I'm an absolute beginner and I am having an issue with the effects. When I drop an effect into the effects track it comes up with only a limited number of options. When I put the effect into the video there are all the options but I don't know how to change the duration of the effect. Shouldn't I get all the effects options either way? Can someone help?

Assume maybe you mean PowerDirector. When the Fx is added on a video it applies for that entire clip duration, you can artificially adjust length by splitting clip or using keyframes to control the effect. The "Effect" button above the timeline allows adjustment of effect options.

When you apply an effect on the Fx track, you can change the effective length of it, some ways, drag, use duration, or keyframes. The "Modify" button above the timeline allows adjustment of effect options.

Jeff
Esmeweatherwax [Avatar]
[Post New]