Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Transition blacks out screen after trimming clip
spence524 [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Aug 09, 2019 08:43 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
Noob here:
Here's the situation...

I have 2 clips that I want to place a Fade transition between. I place the transition between the 2 clips and it works fine, but the moment I trim the first clip (trimmed a few seconds from the beginning), the problem happens.

When the first clip comes to an end, the clip freezes for a moment (presumably the duration of the transition) and then the 2nd clip fades in from black. If I remove the trimming of the first clip, the fade transition is as expected and looks fine. This doesn't happen between other trimmed clips elsewhere in the timeline. When I render the video, it is a problem as well. I have tried removing the transition, and untrimming, then adding it back....same thing. When I tried a brand new project with the same 2 clips, the behavior is repeated. The transition behavior is set to overlap.

I am assuming this is user error here.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

AMD Ryzen7
ASUS GTX 1080 ti
32 GB RAM 3200

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Aug 09. 2019 19:10

optodata
Senior Contributor Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 8630 Offline
[Post New]
I don't think you're doing anything wrong, but what you're describing is not typical PD behavior. I'm also concerned that the issue happens repeatedly with these particular clips but not to others on the timeline.