Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Serious frame access issues with H.264 M2TS clips
optodata
Senior Contributor Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 8630 Offline
[Post New]
I've been working with HD MTS clips since 2011 and have almost always produced to M2TS, since the quality is very good and YouTube happily accepts them as is. Over the years I've had many kinds of frustrating experiences due to the technical kinds of edits I tend to make, as I often need to place a keyframe, cut or trim on exactly the right frame.

Things got noticeably worse when the 2514 patch came out for PD17, but I had a difficult time finding any common ground between various problems I kept seeing - even though they kept coming up again and again. Now, after some hunches and a ton of forensic work, I have a big part of the answer.

It's a frame access problem with PD17 (specifically 17.0.2514.2) and H.264 M2TS clips.

The gist of the issue is that for some reason, PD17 is unable to access every frame in this type of clip when doing normal timeline editing. It's not much of an issue with playback or producing, and it's only when you need access to a specific frame that the real problems start.

I made a 5 second test video with a unique number in each frame and produced it many different ways with several different hardware configurations in both PD14 and 17. In general, PD14 handles the clips reasonably well, with only a few specific frames "unreachable" from the timeline regardless of whether the test clips were produced by PD14 or PD17.