Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Which laptop for PD17 (Nvidia vs Radeon)?
dave_van_damn [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Jan 15, 2019 02:32 Messages: 14 Offline
[Post New]
Hi all,

I'm about to buy a new laptop but I have a few questions. I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to CPUs and GPUs so I'm not exactly sure which laptop to buy.
I'm currently torn between 3 laptops, all roughly similar prices.

1. Lenovo i7-8850u with 8gb ram and Nvidia Geforce 920mx-2GB

2. Lenovo i7-8550u with 8gb ram and AMD Radeon T530 2GB

3. Same as #2 but with an i5-8250u (slightly cheaper)

Questions:

1. Would there be any performance issues with the i5? The i7s are a bit more expensive so I don't want to buy one if an i5 will suffice!

2. Would the Nvidia Geforce 920mx be compatible with PD17 or would it have problems?

3. Are all Nvidia GPUs having problems with PD17 or only certain models?

4. What performs better with PD17, Nvidia or Radeon?

Thanks for your help!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Jan 22. 2019 09:33

dave_van_damn [Avatar]
[Post New]
Quote Hi all,

I'm about to buy a new laptop but I have a few questions. I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to CPUs and GPUs so I'm not exactly sure which laptop to buy.
I'm currently torn between 3 laptops, all roughly similar prices.

1. Lenovo i7-8850u with 8gb ram and Nvidia Geforce 920mx-2GB

2. Lenovo i7-8550u with 8gb ram and AMD Radeon T530 2GB

3. Same as #2 but with an i5-8250u (slightly cheaper)

Questions:

1. Would there be any performance issues with the i5? The i7s are a bit more expensive so I don't want to buy one if an i5 will suffice!