Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PowerDirector 17 won't start after exiting
Bill Dewey [Avatar]
Newbie Location: Washington State Joined: Nov 24, 2018 10:41 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
I am new to PowerDirector, as well as to video editing, this may simply be an issue of my doing something wrong or having a setting I have not set. I am running Windows 10 on an i7 with 16GB Ram. I have checked to be sure that I am not running out of memory, my other photo editing software opens and closes as expected. A Reboot, so far, has resolved the problem, but it is a big pain to do. The problem does not happen everytime I exit, maybe 30% of the time. I have been doing fairly simple processes to cut segments out of longer video files using Precut, producing MP4 files, and that seems to be working fine, when it does. One other annoying thing is that I often no longer see the graph on the Audio timeline, although changes do work.

Thought, ideas? It almost seems like some setting issue.

Thanks for any assistance you can render. I have been searching the 'Net and have not found anything specific other than "try to reinstall".
Longedge [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Joined: Apr 28, 2011 15:38 Messages: 1504 Offline
[Post New]
In the past the reason for this problem was that PDR had not closed down fully. Next time iot happens check your Windows Task Manager to see if in fact PowerDirector is still there when in fact you thought you had closed it. If so then end the task and try again.
optodata
Senior Contributor Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 8630 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Bill