Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
video editing/converting, am i doing this right?
matt [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: May 24, 2009 17:34 Messages: 12 Offline
[Post New]
Hey all, I am fairly new at video editing and have a couple questions. I have two SD movie cameras. One saves the video format as *.MP4 and the other as a *.MOV file - both a quicktime video. Nice video, but terrible for any editing.

I am using power director 6. This program cannot open either extension, can only open .AVI, MPG, ect. So...here lies my question. I am using SUPER to do the conversion, but what is the best no loss settings to use, as well as extension. Is it better to convert to .MPEG or .AVI? What would be the best settings to use? I have tried both, but both seem to give a grainy, blocky picture and I feel its got something to do with my settings.

Any help is appreciated.
vn800rider
Senior Contributor Location: Darwen, UK Joined: May 15, 2008 04:32 Messages: 1949 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Matt,

Which version of PD6 are you using - Help>about.

I have 6.00.1731b on my dual core laptop and it handles .mp4 and .mov files fine.

Have you tried dragging and dropping the file into the media library rather than using the import file menu?

Cheers
Adrian
Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated. (see below)
Confucius
AMD Phenom IIX6 1055T, win10, 5 internal drives, 7 usb drives, struggling power supply.
matt [Avatar]
[Post New]
yes, I have tried the drag and drop. .MP4 files will work, however, .MOV files will not.
Dafydd B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Matt,