Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Videos wrong size
Kevmoon
Newbie Location: Southern Spain Joined: May 16, 2009 08:29 Messages: 19 Offline
[Post New]
Hello all,I am new to video,a friend has given me a WMF file which was shot in 4:3 I have set both the programme (PD7) and the clip in timeline to 4:3. The veiwing window at the top right of the screen is clearly 16:9 and the video fills it so everyone looks fat,is there a way to change the physical size of the clip I.E. squash it in from the sides so that people have the right proportions,I know I will have two black vertical bands at each side of the video but this is no problem.
I wouldn't join any club that would have me as a member
vn800rider
Senior Contributor Location: Darwen, UK Joined: May 15, 2008 04:32 Messages: 1949 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Kevin,

You have 3 variables to play with.

Project aspect ratio
Set in Directors Chair>edit>aspect ratio

Clip Aspect ratio
Clip in timeline, rt click>set aspect ratio

In clip Set aspect ratio you have choices as to which method you choose to resize the clip (if any) - Letterbox, Stretch,CLPV and Crop

If you want to produce to 4:3 and your clip is 4:3 set the project aspect ratio to 4:3.

If you want to produce to 16:9, and your clip is 4:3, set project aspect ratio to 16:9, then set clip aspect ratio to 16:9 using which ever method suits you best.

Hope that helps.
Cheers
Adrian

Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated. (see below)
Confucius
AMD Phenom IIX6 1055T, win10, 5 internal drives, 7 usb drives, struggling power supply.
Kevmoon
[Post New]