Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Poor video quality after entering timeline?
Alex [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Jan 07, 2009 19:41 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Hi, I'm fairly new to PowerDirector and video editing. I have a video file (.avi, if it matters) and whenever I place it in the timeline, I get this popup:

How do I fix it so the video quality isn't so terrible after I put it in the timeline? Also, I've noticed this happens in Windows Movie Maker as well, if that makes a difference. Help is much appreciated!
[Post New]
Hi Alex,

Sounds like you have a TV format problem with your clips. Generally, there are two big TV signal standards in the world...NTSC and PAL. NTSC TV signal formats are used in the U.S. and Japan while most of the rest of the world uses PAL.

To change the default setting for the clip you are using, hit the director chair icon located in the upper left hand corner. Select preferences, and then hit the general tab. You'll see two settings, one for NTSC and one for PAL.

Change this setting to match your TV format. If you are in a European country, most likely this will be PAL. If you are in the US or Japan, you'll be using NTSC.

When converting PAL to NTSC, the signal will always be of less quality as the PAL system offers more resolution then NTSC.

Whatever clips you are using, whether they be PAL or NTSC, the format selection in PD7 must match your clip formats.

Hope this helps.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Jan 07. 2009 19:58

RobertJ/OZ [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: Melbourne Australia Joined: Aug 14, 2006 02:26 Messages: 1209 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Alex,