Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Sound Clips and Copyrights
Peter Podder
Member Location: Long Island, N.Y. Joined: Dec 03, 2016 16:13 Messages: 116 Offline
[Post New]
Hello all,

I downloaded a sound clip from DZ and used it in a Timelapse clip that I uploaded to Instagram and Facebook.

Got a copyright warning from Facebook. I admit I did not do my due dilligance as I assumed anything from DZ was ok to use on non commercial content shares.

Can anyone educate me on the process if ok to use or how to credit the clip to the proper owner ?

I am new at sharing my edits and would like to share them but want to do it legally of course.

Thanks

Scott

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Feb 19. 2017 17:40

Dell Precision M4700 i7-3840QM 2.80 GHz
16gb ram , NVIDIA Quadro K2000M GPU
Samsung 850 EVO 1tb SSD , 500 gb HDD ,

ynotfish
Senior Contributor Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9977 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Scott -

The truth is that none of us really has a clue about the things uploaded to DirectorZone. When users upload an effect, they have to check the disclaimer that they are not infringing any copyright etc. CyberLink, wisely, takes no responsibility for that.

For example, I just uploaded this particle effect. Yes - I made the particle effect, but you don't know whether I made the original graphic or not. I didn't, but it's unlikely to be flagged anywhere. Audio clips are quite different. YouTube detects them!

Unless there are many hundreds of DZ users who also happen to be composers/musicians, there is likely to be a good % of material that has been uploaded not according to the checked disclaimer.