Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Menu Woes Again
Tom [Avatar]
Newbie Location: St Helens, Merseyside, UK Joined: Jul 23, 2007 14:08 Messages: 19 Offline
[Post New]
I read with interest Robert's comments on using the menu on the create screen, and the follow up comments, and I have to tell Nina that I already have grey hair! And it is getting even greyer editing menus.

Rather than continue that thread I thought it better to start a new one, as I have a specific problem in PD7.

I have used PD5, and PD6 and just upgraded to PD7. I say this to indicate that I am not a complete novice with PowerDirector, although I accept I am still a junior and constantly learning. I am obviously doing something wrong in menu edit, but what?

The problem I have is that I can edit the menu without any problems, but when it comes to playing the DVD, the button highlight never works. The chapters are found and play, but you have to guess where the cursor is.

As an experiment I started a new project and in Edit loaded the first 4 sample clips into the project, then set a chapter at the start of each clip (i.e. 4 chapters). Then went to the create disc screen, and selected template 5. Without touching anything I burned a disc. The DVD played but no highlighting. I repeated the experiment using template 10, and the highlighting worked!

Everything I have tried when editing my menus fails. In preview everything appears to work, but after burning the highlighting does not show. This is a problem I have never had in PD5 or PD6. I am seriously considering going back to PD6, if I can’t resolve the problem.

BTW I have installed the patch. I also appologise for a rather long ramble.

Tom