Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PD Render Inserts Silence at 30fps, not at 24
V1v10 [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Oct 17, 2015 20:46 Messages: 25 Offline
[Post New]
Hey Folks,

I'm new to PD, but have been editing video for a while, and I'm liking what I get. But tonight I've got a strange problem. I've got 720 video from a little action cam that I'm putting together, and this thing doesn't shoot files of duration longer than 5 minutes at a time. It auto-chunks them.

NP, I figure, just butt-end them in the timeline. However, in a few transitions, when using preview, I get a moment of silence between the clips. When I zoom in, the audio track thumb shows audio the whole way. Opening the audio from each file in Audio director shows audio the whole way. I decide it's just playback artifact, and quickly highlight and produce that little transition, just to be sure.

Nope. Outputting it at 1280x720 (same as original) in WMV at 30 fps (same as original) gives me a moment of silence in between. Attached is an image of the audio track from both the 24 fps render and the 30fps, the flatline silence clearly visible in the 30.

I experimented with MP4 at both 24 fps and 30, and the audio seemed to do fine there too.

I guess I want to know if there's a reason the 30fps WMV render would be inserting this silent gap (and it did it a dozen times) or if this looks like a bug. I find it especially odd since the original video is 30 fps.

Anyone seen this or have any ideas?
[Thumb - wmv30sound.JPG]
 Filename
wmv30sound.JPG
[Disk]
 Description
audio at 30 fps
 Filesize
218 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
36 time(s)
[Thumb - wmv24sound.JPG]
 Filename
wmv24sound.JPG
[Disk]
 Description