Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
What's A Guy To Do ?
Babbitt [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Oct 08, 2006 15:32 Messages: 5 Offline
[Post New]
Problems, problems, problems. Won't go into them all but the latest one is.... Just re-installed PD5 (for about the 8th time) Project is produced (rendered ?) and when I click on "Create Disc", I get some message like "Sorry, an error has been encountered and the program must shut down". The problem as I recall is with a PDR.exe file. Can someone walk me through a complete uninstall. I'm not very good with computer lingo. My limited knowledge is suggesting to me that I'm not getting everything off before I re-install. Here is what I got from a Cyberlink Tech:

Start--> Run--> Cyberlink PowerDirector --> Uninstall Power Director

next...

Start --> Run--> type "regedit"--> click "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE" --> "Software"--> click "Cyberlink"--> Delete folder "Power Director"

next...

Start--> Run--> type "regedit"--> click "HKEY_CURRENT_USER" --> click "Software"--> Delete the folder "Power Director (which I can't see)

Should I be taking this computer somewhere to have it looked at ?

DB
Dafydd B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]
Hi DB,
You should have got my PM to you as well.

This will be easy peasy and a bit of lemon squeasy to you later on when you get more experienced.

The intention here is to remove everything possible of a program and to then reinstall anew. In the process we remove any corrupted files and clear the decks.