Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Help Needed (GoPro Workflow) & (PD Export Settings)
RipGroove [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Jan 14, 2013 05:40 Messages: 37 Offline
[Post New]
I have searched and haven't found exactly what i'm after. The reason for this post is that video files straight out of my GoPro look stunning and yet my finished output files seem to lack some quality compared the originals Before i start spending hours aditing my videos i'd like to nail down the process of importing a good quality file and exporting the same file preserving the highest amount of quality i can.

I'm new to video editing and have a couple of questions, first i'll explain my goals:

1. To be able to edit my GoPro videos using PD10 or PD11 and save them, on my computer in the highest quality possible.

2. To also save a duplicate of each video in a format that i can upload to YouTube, again in the highest quality YouTube will allow.

I've done quite a bit of reading but still can't seem to nail it down completley, so far this is my workflow:

Current example test clip (Info obtained from MediaInfo):

Source: GoPro Hero2 (i'll be using a Hero3 from now on though)
Format: MPEG-4
Frame Rate: 50fps
Resolution: 1280x720
Duration: 19secs
Overal Bit Rate: 15.2Mbps
Bit Rate: 14.6MB
Codec ID: avc1
File Size: 35MB
Scan: Progressive

So, my current and probably incorrect workflow is ths:

1. Import RAW file from camera to computer

2. Convert RAW file to .AVI using GoPro's Cineform software (I've read that doing this increases the files size thus giving PD more to work with?)

The file now looks like this:

Format: avi
Frame Rate: 50fps
Resolution: 1280x720
Duration: 19secs