Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Newest of newbies, converting VHS tapes?
Viajerozz [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Sep 16, 2011 09:12 Messages: 35 Offline
[Post New]
Hi. Please excuse the rudimentary questions but I am just beginning to use PD10. My first project is converting old VHS tapes to digital form and, in the process, have been trying to grasp the vast confusion of video file format options. What a confusion of terms and opinions on what file formats to use and when. I have searched for weeks trying to understand the differences between avi's, Mpegs, h.264, avchd, on and on till I am blue in the face. The PD User manual was not much help and googled info usually assumes you are already well-versed.. What a help it would be to us newcomers to PD if someone provided a simple chart and explanation on what file types and settings might be used in any given importing/producing situation.

Can someone tell me, in simple terms, what import and production file types and settings they use to import VHS tapes (AVI or MPEG-2?) and then produce to a file type with the best quality/file size? Thanks for any help provided!
garioch7
Senior Contributor Location: Port Hood, Nova Scotia, Canada Joined: Feb 07, 2011 06:45 Messages: 852 Offline
[Post New]