Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Talking heads editing
rallyka2001 [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Jul 06, 2010 08:50 Messages: 20 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,

Can anyone help, I am new to PD and I am using it at the moment for editing interview infomation. As part of this I want to take quotes from different interviews and then edit them into one clip. I was planning on having one window open with the interview in and another with the new clip file so I could watch an interview and when a relevent quote comes up, split it out and paste it into the new clip file. However, PD doesn't seem to work this way, I then thought it may be possible to have 2 timelines open but can figure out if this is possible.

Can anyone suggest the best way to approch what I need to do?

Thanks!
Derek
Videocentricity
Contributor Location: Long Beach,CA Joined: May 21, 2007 05:37 Messages: 394 Offline
[Post New]
Absolutely you can do what you wish.

For example you can have a master clip in the top time line and a sub-clip on the PIP line(s)
You can then watch along any one track with the others turned off until you find a section which you like.
Make spit points Ctrl-T at approx the start and end of a section

Do this along all the tracks you have on-screen.

Now what you do is complex to describe but you will get the hang of it by trying.

lets say that on the master track at 1 minute 20 seconds you want to inset a section from track 2
You go to that point on track 1 and drag an empty space at that point by dragging the second section of track 1 off to the right. You will now have track 1 ending at 1m 20s and a big gap and then the remainder of track 1