Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PD 21 error.
iammykyl [Avatar]
Newbie Location: Brisbane. Australia. Joined: Sep 02, 2018 06:23 Messages: 34 Offline
[Post New]
Hi All. I have been using PD16 for about 5 years and just purchased and installed PD21. When I boot the new install, looks perfect but, when I try to open a project, (full list is still visable) I get the message "not compatible, project was written by an older version of power director" If I boot to PD16, everthing works properly. I have not YET tried to build a new project with PD21. Any suggestion please.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at May 22. 2023 03:10

iammykyl
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 6091 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Hi All. I have been using PD16 for about 5 years and just purchased and installed PD21. When I boot the new install, looks perfect but, when I try to open a project, (full list is still visable) I get the message "not compatible, project was written by an older version of power director" If I boot to PD16, everthing works properly. I have not YET tried to build a new project with PD21. Any suggestion please.

Some users have claimed that pds project files are upward compatible, like here: https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/77296.page#post_box_316326, I've mentioned multiple times that they are not as seen and shown in that link. It looks like perhaps CL added a new warning. What options does it provide? Past behavior is that it usually loads the project but the timeline may not be as it existed in the older version.