Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Best Output format for AVI files for Playstation 3
Elektrohead [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Feb 16, 2010 10:53 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
I am new to PD8 and purchased it to work on a load of Mini DV tapes I had from my old Sony camcorder that I have on my hard drive as AVI files most of which are about 12gb in size.

I would like to add a few simple fades and titles and then dump these to the Playstation 3 hard drive to view.

I have a 50" full HD plasma that I will be viewing these on so would like the best quality I can get (I like the idea of the true theatre upscaling in PD.

I am a little lost on what the best format to output these movies is to get the best quality and upscaling and was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.

ynotfish
Senior Contributor Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9977 Offline
[Post New]
Hi there -

There are 3 profiles available for producing to .AVI... the best one to use for your purposes will depend on the properties of the original files.

In order of file size & bitrate (highest to lowest):

1. Windows-AVI (doesn't support wide screen)
2. DV-AVI
3. DivX

Why not do a test (with a short clip) to see which looks best?

Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
James Dotson
Senior Contributor Location: Tennessee Joined: Aug 24, 2009 20:40 Messages: 3066 Offline
[Post New]