Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Projects, file structure and contents
jimbrigger@gmail.com [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Nov 30, 2020 18:25 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
PhotoDirector Version 12.0.2228.0 (64-bit)
Version type: 365
SR number: PTD200921-07

I've been using PD for only a few weeks, and my purpose is to tag my photos in a simple manner (e.g. year-month; location; event) and to tag faces. The idea is to make it easier to find photos. My Pictures folder contains around 16,800 files in 563 folders, 21GB in size, but of course that includes files created by PD. At this point, I have imported (and tagged and done face ID) on roughly half of my photos. I am not a professional photographer, and have no plans to do extensive photo editing, nor do I need to set up "projects" for clients such as Smith-Barton Wedding Nov 2020 or McDonald Family Photos 2019 and the like.

For me, one single project is fine, preferable in fact. By that I mean, I want my tags and faces to address ALL my photos. But somehow, it appears that I have a few different projects - see attachments "PD directory structure" and "PD phd files". I have a few questions:

1. Given that I want my tags and faces to address all my photos, does it matter that I have these different projects?

2. If it does matter, is there a way I can fix the problem, like somehow combine these existing projects into one?

3. Am I trying to handle too many photos? If so, what are the limitations and what is a sensible way to divide my photos into subsets?