Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Description of what the fx filters do?
Davidk101
Senior Member Location: Brisbane Australia Joined: Jun 24, 2020 02:38 Messages: 172 Offline
[Post New]
I've been doing OJT on PD18 for about 2 months now and am just about ready to use the filters more seriously. But in another editor items I like (pan and zoom, contrast and brightness, stabilization, cropping) are filters, whereas in PD I've found that they are in various parts of the main workspace - not filters.
And I'm finding that the PD filters in the fx room generally don't have a name that is recognizably descriptive of what the filter does. For example, there doesn't seem to be a vignette filter in the list
Is there a description (maybe 1 or 2 sentences that describes what each one does) of the filters available? If so, where?
optodata
Senior Contributor Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 8630 Offline
[Post New]
I think many of the things you're talking about could easily be labled as tools, settings, plugins or effects and I think there's bound to be variation in how each is implemented in various editors.

Complicating matters is that there are many different combinations of specific FX available in PD, and the selection is determined by which particular version you have (eg Ultimate vs. Ultra, perpetual license vs. subscription, and whether you've been using PD for years or if this is a new installation).

On one of my PD365 systems, I have 2 different vignette FX - one from Boris FX Film Style and the other from NewBlue Essential Effect 2 - but at least one of them is from legacy installations: