CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
3D Vision problem
Reply to this topic
Furio [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 17, 2011 07:35 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
I too have the same problem, menus are in 3D but any movie I play is flat.
Tested with several 3D titles, including Resident Evil Afterlife
I use nVidia 3D Vision

PowerDVD full Version
YES - PowerDVD 10 Mark II Version 10.0.2325.51

PowerDVD Trial Verison?
NO

PowerDVD SR Number (when click on "CyberLink in left top - SR NUMBER IS NOT THE CD-KEY!!)
DVD101124-02

PowerDVD TR Number (if shown)
TR101202-091

Operating System (including x86 or x64 Bit Version)
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Do you use administrator or restricted user account?
default account with adm rights,

Is your PowerDVD a Retail product or bundles with HW?
Retail

Used VGA
nVidia EN GTX 580

Used VGA driver version
Video 266.58
3D Vision 266.58

Used Audio device
Embedded ASUS Realtech HD

Used Audio device driver version
Realtech 6.0.1.5859

The Audio setting in PowerDVD and in OS (default devices)
Set on use current system settings (6 channels)

Used ODD drive (full model name and Firmware Version)
LG HL-DT-ST BD-RE GGW-H20L (DVD Region 2, BD Region B)

Used Display(s)
LG W2363D

Which kind of display connection (HDMI/DisplayPort/VGA/DVI)
DVI

Whcih Display refresh rate do you use while Playback (24/25/50/60/120/...)
100 (monitor is capable of 120 but here in Italy it causes flickering due to the 50hz based power line)

Are you using single or dual monitor environment
Single

Are you using clone or extended mode (if use two display)
N/A

(3D only) Please provide detail info about 3D setting in PowerDVD
Enabled, and set on automatic recognition of source format and output display. It enables 3D on the BD menus so I suppose the settings are correct

What kind of Antivirus SW are you using
Avire Premium Securuty Suite 10

The detailed issue description
Only overlay menus are shown in 3d when playing 3D Blue-Ray

I enclose the Advisor and DxDiag logs

I don't have any problems with other 3D content (I succesfully play World of Warcraft and Starcraft II in 3D on this PC).
 Filename
DEBUG_CLDetect_RX-78_2011_04_17_14_13_00.html
[Disk]
 Description
BlueRay Disc and 3D Advisor log
 Filesize
15 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
409 time(s)
 Filename
DxDiag_64.txt
[Disk]
 Description
DXDiag run in 64 bit mode
 Filesize
37 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
236 time(s)
 Filename
DxDiag.txt
[Disk]
 Description
DXDiag run in 32 bit mode
 Filesize
34 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
195 time(s)
Reply
Romane [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Mar 01, 2011 13:16 Messages: 10 Offline
[Post New]
From mezencevr
Hello Furio !
Maybe you could update your PwrDVD 10 to the last version 10.0.2701.51 which comes with the free update UltraFree_DVD110221-01.exe; TR number TR110301-018. In my system (Windows 7 32bits, video card GTX560 TI, driver 266.66 WHQL, NVidia 3D Vision full disk 1.45) PwrDVD works fine with 3D Blu ray disks and it can translate 2D->3D for DVD only. MR:
Reply
JamesCossin
Newbie Private Message Location: Texas, United States Joined: Jan 07, 2011 18:08 Messages: 48 Offline
[Post New]
Well,

It should be known that I am no longer using Windows Vista.
I have made the switch to Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit. I have dxdiag's to post, though they are not needed in my case. ( I would assume. ) Best of luck to all you guys with similar problems.

Regards,
James Cossin

 Filename
DxDiag 64bit.txt
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
44 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
205 time(s)
 Filename
DxDiag 32bit.txt
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
33 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
222 time(s)
"Only the dead have seen the end of war"
PC Specs:Q6600 @3Ghz,4GB Ram@1066Mhz,750i SLi FTW @ 1333Mhz FSB,(2) EVGA GTX 470SC 1280MB,X-Fi Platinum,Nvidia Edition Antec 900.
Acer H5360 3D Projector, 92" EliteScreens Screen
Reply
Gowing [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Nov 27, 2010 08:59 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
To answer Larry's question: Using a single link DVI will not work with 3D. Nor will it work HDMI 1.3. I tried plugging into my Acer via HDMI and 3D Vision wouldn't work. If you were to go the TV route and I'm not mistaken, it would have to have 120Hz refresh rate or better, and it would have to have either DVI dual link or HDMI 1.4 compatability, though I can't confirm that personally.
Reply
Larry Patrick [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jul 11, 2007 14:21 Messages: 276 Offline
[Post New]
Seems like 3dtv play for blu ray playback is included in the nvidia drivers and just requires a 1.4 hdmi connection to a valid 3dtv.

If you purchase 3dtv play you can also play games and other content at 720p in 3d.

Premilinary testing required me to bypass my Onkyo TX-ST605 since it was 1.3 hdmi. I have slapped a new Denon AVR791 now between and the 3D passes through fine at 1080P 24 for 3D blu ray, and 720P 60 for gaming and other 3d activities. I wish 3dtv play supported more 3d resolutions. Still learning though

Geforce 460 GTX (mini hdmi high speed cable to hdmi)
Denon AVR791 (hdmi high speed with networking cable to hdmi)
Panasonic TC-P55ST30

Now to report on things i noticed which you may have already tried or behave differently under 3d vision vs 3dtv play. 3D does not automatically get activated. Switching inputs is a bad a idea
I have found times where I have to visit the control panel and force the computer to a 3d resolution. Then start the program that wants to use the 3dtv play. If you haven't already tried this give it a spin. I will not leave my computer in a 3d resolution since i read a warning about poor performance. My goal to find programs that can switch for me.
It looks like to me 3dtv play overrides the standard 3d vison setup. I have not traced out exactly what triggers 3d vision configuration vs 3dtv play just yet, but i suspect if i block the hdmi 1.4 3d pass through i might find it.
I have successfully played parts of a 3d blu ray at 1080p 24 and it is in 3d. Imax under the sea 3d with the grouper that tries to kiss you is unbelivable! I wish more movies used those depths.
I had trouble with pictures in 3d and basically due to the software i was using i had to force a 3d resolution. Pictures at 1080p or 720p worked fine.
Games I could leave the desktop at a different resolution and then force to 720p 3d inside the game just fine so far.
PowerDVD did a good job of taking my 1080p 60 and switching to 1080p 24 3D.

I seriously wonder if when Nvidia added 3dtv play they didn't break some of the 3d vision support? The sad part is the powerdvd needs a certain revision driver to fully support the 3d blu ray playback. This reminds of my hd audio issue where if an older driver worked i could prove it was more nvidia's fault than cyberlink.

I am currently using the Nvidia WHQL 270.61 drivers.

I am sorry i still do not have a 3d vision supported device to test against.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Apr 21. 2011 08:51

Reply
Furio [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 17, 2011 07:35 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
A short update:

I've tried a competitor product (ArcSoft) and it worked fine with my current hardware and configuration (nvidia 3d vision using an LG W2363D monitor connected via DVI).
It even played Resident Evil: Afterlife in full 3D, and I mean the movie, not only the menus. Actually, now I can tell that even the picture behind the overlay-ed menu is in 3D (in PowerDVD only the overlayed part is 3D, the animation behind it is flat, may this be a sign that the problem is not in the video output but in reading/converting the full 3D stream from the source?)

No offense, but now that PowerDVD 11 is out and I'm asked an additional 60$ to update (and I've bought 10 just 2 weeks ago) I'm seriously tempted to switch to a program that works (at least for me)

Reply
JamesCossin
Newbie Private Message Location: Texas, United States Joined: Jan 07, 2011 18:08 Messages: 48 Offline
[Post New]
Michael,

Any updates on the problem? Just a reminder, it's just a simple fix. Simply make it play 3D content at 1280x720 instead of the default projector resolution of 1920x1080.

Oh and maybe since it's taken so long, I can get a huge discount on upgrading to PDVD 11?

Br,
James "Only the dead have seen the end of war"
PC Specs:Q6600 @3Ghz,4GB Ram@1066Mhz,750i SLi FTW @ 1333Mhz FSB,(2) EVGA GTX 470SC 1280MB,X-Fi Platinum,Nvidia Edition Antec 900.
Acer H5360 3D Projector, 92" EliteScreens Screen
Reply
JamesCossin
Newbie Private Message Location: Texas, United States Joined: Jan 07, 2011 18:08 Messages: 48 Offline
[Post New]
Thought I should check in and see if there's anything being done or if this is being worked on.

Michael, I recieved your PM (27/05/2011 03:36:13). I have not purchased PowerDVD 11 and most likely will decide to do so after the issue with PDVD 10 is solved. I will go ahead and download the PDVD 11 trial and see if it does work correctly though.

Furthermore, If you had contacted Juin or Aileen months ago I believe you could've gotten some critical information on how this issue is solved with PowerDVD 10 playing content in 3D at 1920x1080 (which is above the resolution limit for my 3D projector in 3D mode) instead of playing it at the resolution of 1280x720. It's really such a simple fix from what I understand.

So once again I would like to stress the issue here:
Acer H5360 has a maximum 2D resolution of 1920x1080
Acer H5360 has a maximum 3D resolution of 1280x720
PowerDVD 10 plays movies in 3D at the resolution of 1920x1080

Br,
James Cossin

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 18. 2011 01:17

"Only the dead have seen the end of war"
PC Specs:Q6600 @3Ghz,4GB Ram@1066Mhz,750i SLi FTW @ 1333Mhz FSB,(2) EVGA GTX 470SC 1280MB,X-Fi Platinum,Nvidia Edition Antec 900.
Acer H5360 3D Projector, 92" EliteScreens Screen
Reply
CyberLink-Michael [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Europe Joined: Apr 18, 2007 04:05 Messages: 7418 Offline
[Post New]
Hi James,

did you try the latest Patch of PowerDVD 10?

Acer H5360 has a maximum 2D resolution of 1920x1080
Acer H5360 has a maximum 3D resolution of 1280x720

as far as I can see the Native resolution of this device is 720p
on all my platforms PDVD uses 720p to playback on this device



Br
Michael

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 19. 2011 07:36

Technical Support

Werde Facebook Fan
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team