CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Frame Rate Conflict in PowerDirector 13 with a Samsung Galaxy S10 video file
Reply to this topic
[Post New]
So I decided to switch from a Samsung Galaxy S6 to a Galaxy S10e in order to produce even better looking videos, but I'm having a little bit of an issue. I uploaded my first video off of my S10e yesterday onto my PD13 panel. Once I inserted the file onto the timeline, I received a message letting me know of a timerate conflict, which stated that the frame rate for my S10 file was 30.09 while the set frame rate is 29.97 (or 30). I've recieved this warning box many times before, but because most of my files were just below 30, it didn't effect the smoothness of my videos at all.

The S10e video file lags whenever I play it on the timeline in PD13 and I have no idea how to fix this issue. Is there anything that I can do to make this video play normally?? Since the S10 came out just last week I know there aren't that many people that have run into this issue (yet), but if anyone else happens to run into a simialr issue and finds a solution, please let me know. I'll include a screenshot of the warning box that I recieved in PD13 as well.
[Thumb - Screenshot 2019-03-14 18.44.34.png]
 Filename
Screenshot 2019-03-14 18.44.34.png
[Disk]
 Description
Frame Rate Issue in PD13
 Filesize
419 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
5 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Mar 14. 2019 18:49

Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 2870 Online
[Post New]
I doubt that this has anything to do with the frame rate message, although the fact that you keep seeing it would definitely be confusing.

You can actually disable that warning by unchecking this box under Preferences:



I imagine that it's the S10's high resolution and bitrate that your PD on your PC is unable to handle in real time. It's like that for most people.

I can run video 4k 30p video from my S8 smoothly in PD13, but I have a brand new and very fast computer.

The first things to try are to lower PD's preview resolution to HD or Normal, and to turn on shadow files. If you'd like other people to take a look at how your S10 video works on their systems, please upload a short sample clip to OneDrive, Google Drive, DropBox, etc and paste the link here.

If you could also look at the Read Me Before Posting sticky thread at the top of the forum index page, you'll see the detailed steps for running the DxDiag test and attaching the results here. That will give us a clear idea of what your PC is capable of, and can help us give you the best advice for working with clips like these.

Again, ignore or disable the frame conflict warning.
youtube/optodata


Director Suite 365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16 thread i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | nVidia 419.35 | ASUS PRIME Z390-A | 6.2TB SSDs | 4TB HDD | 32GB RAM | (12GB RAMDrive)
Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 654 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I can run video 4k 30p video from my S8 smoothly in PD13, but I have a brand new and very fast computer


Pardon me while I have a bit of a rant!

Here in Europe we have a 50Hz framerate but video from my European market Galaxy S5 and Canon G12 camera is 60Hz which means that the editor has to drop frames with the result that the finished video is always jerky. With such a large area of the world using 50Hz why do we have to be stuck with an American standard? I wouldn't have thought it beyond the wit of man to make it possible to offer both standards. Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Gigabyte GA-P61_USB3-B3, Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, Powerdirector Ultra 64 9.0.0.2330 and Ultimate 64 13.0.2104.0
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 2870 Online
[Post New]
Quote Pardon me while I have a bit of a rant! Here in Europe we have a 50Hz framerate but video from my European market Galaxy S5 and Canon G12 camera is 60Hz which means that the editor has to drop frames with the result that the finished video is always jerky. With such a large area of the world using 50Hz why do we have to be stuck with an American standard? I wouldn't have thought it beyond the wit of man to make it possible to offer both standards.

Obviously I can't do anything about the choices that device manufacturers make, and while the PAL broadcast standard and the power frequency in much of the world uses/runs at 50Hz, there's nothing to stop you from producing videos at 60p, especially if you're going to be watching on a phone or monitor.

Take an existing project and change the project frame rate to 60 FPS (NTSC) then re-produce it to 60p. Even though you'll also have to change the Country/video format of disc to NTSC, that setting is only meaningful for videos and discs meant to be watched on a TV; it's irrelevant to computers, laptops or phones.

If you're producing to discs or media for PAL TV, you may find that setting the project framerate to 60 gives different results than when it's set to 50 when producing 60p clips to PAL 50p. If you've been using one of those project framerates and aren't happy with the resulting jerkiness/frame loss, it may be worth trying out the other setting.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Mar 15. 2019 14:04


youtube/optodata


Director Suite 365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16 thread i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | nVidia 419.35 | ASUS PRIME Z390-A | 6.2TB SSDs | 4TB HDD | 32GB RAM | (12GB RAMDrive)
Reply
Fenman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Cambridge, UK Joined: Nov 24, 2011 04:44 Messages: 654 Offline
[Post New]
Hi optodata,

Thanks for the suggestion. I might try that out just to see what happens although because of the frequency difference I've taken very little video on the S5 or G12.

Nearly all my video ends up on a DVD or BluRay disc to be played through my TV. I imagine it would still be impossible to mix 60Hz footage with any taken using my 50Hz Panasonic SD900 camcorder which is what I'd probably most want to do. Regards,
Mike

Home-build system:
Gigabyte GA-P61_USB3-B3, Intel Core i5 Quad Core 3.3GHz, 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz,
Asus Nvidia GT440 1GB, 2 x Western Digital WD10EARS 1TB,
Windows 7 Prof 64-bit, Powerdirector Ultra 64 9.0.0.2330 and Ultimate 64 13.0.2104.0
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 4095 Offline
[Post New]
Fenman - This 50/60 Hz line frequency and framerate has been debated many times. If the 50 fps footage is for a BD meant for TV viewing then use 50 fps to avoid seeing the judder if produced at 60 fps that many are able to see. In the US many claim that they don’t see any difference. This may me because people’s eyes get used to the 3:2 pulldown used in movies on TV in the states.

Some users now do have a TV that can display 24 fps without the 3:2 pulldown. They cost a little more.
Reply
[Post New]
Quote I doubt that this has anything to do with the frame rate message, although the fact that you keep seeing it would definitely be confusing.

You can actually disable that warning by unchecking this box under Preferences:



I imagine that it's the S10's high resolution and bitrate that your PD on your PC is unable to handle in real time. It's like that for most people.

I can run video 4k 30p video from my S8 smoothly in PD13, but I have a brand new and very fast computer.

The first things to try are to lower PD's preview resolution to HD or Normal, and to turn on shadow files. If you'd like other people to take a look at how your S10 video works on their systems, please upload a short sample clip to OneDrive, Google Drive, DropBox, etc and paste the link here.

If you could also look at the Read Me Before Posting sticky thread at the top of the forum index page, you'll see the detailed steps for running the DxDiag test and attaching the results here. That will give us a clear idea of what your PC is capable of, and can help us give you the best advice for working with clips like these.

Again, ignore or disable the frame conflict warning.



Here is my DxDiag file. I tried changing the preview resolution, but the video still lagged. I'll see about posting a small video clip as well.
 Filename
DxDiag.txt
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
53 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
3 time(s)
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 2870 Online
[Post New]
Quote Here is my DxDiag file. I tried changing the preview resolution, but the video still lagged. I'll see about posting a small video clip as well.

Thanks very much for posting this. I have checked the Dell website for your Latitude E5570 and there are many, many updates waiting for you there.

By far, the most important one is the video driver for your Intel HD Graphics 520 chip. The latest Dell-approved driver is from Jan 2019, while the driver you have installed is 2 years old.

Try that one first, but also consider the BIOS and the many other system-level drivers for your system. Once your laptop is more up to date, see how PD performs.
youtube/optodata


Director Suite 365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16 thread i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | nVidia 419.35 | ASUS PRIME Z390-A | 6.2TB SSDs | 4TB HDD | 32GB RAM | (12GB RAMDrive)
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team