Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Removing an entire clip from timeline PD14
Kawacarl [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Jan 18, 2011 14:57 Messages: 6 Offline
[Post New]
I am new to editing and I can't figure out how to remove an entire clip that is about 5 minutes long. If I try trimming by selecting
the start and finish of what I want removed, it removes everything in front of the clip and everything after the clip that was
selected. I must be missing something that is so simple it is difficult. I think I have looked at all the tips in the help menu to
no avail.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at Feb 01. 2019 22:36

tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 6464 Offline
[Post New]
Try this: Highlight the clip by clicking on it. Right mouse click and click remove from the popup window.
AVPlayVideo
Senior Contributor Location: Home Joined: Apr 06, 2016 19:03 Messages: 703 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I am new to editing and I can't figure out how to remove an entire clip that is about 5 minutes long. If I try trimming by selecting
the start and finish of what I want removed, it removes everything in front of the clip and everything after the clip that was
selected. I must be missing something that is so simple it is difficult. I think I have looked at all the tips in the help menu to
no avail.

Delete only the selected clip, DEL key and choose an option from the menu shown.
There are 2 ways to cut start and end of a video.
1 - Select the video and click the Scissors, open the Editor.
2 - In the timeline Split the video at the beginning, select the leftover and Del, Split at the end, select the leftover right and Del.