CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Issues with PowerDirector 16 not loading sound
Reply to this topic
psx2k1 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 25, 2014 00:58 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,

I am hoping I can have some assistance with a technical issue that has interfered with my editing.

I have a particular video file that power director can't read or load the audio portion of.

When I play this file, i can hear it just fine. However, as soon as I load it unto the timeline to begin editing, I can't hear anything. I went ahead and edited portions of it, to see if I simply can't hear the audio in the timeline, and it turns out that the clips it produces are without audio as well.

Please be aware that I have already ruled out all the obvious things, like checking the "audio" on the time that is on.

The unusual thing is that Power DIrector can load the audio of other files, but it does not recognize the audio on this file. I don't even see the wav readings.

I would really appreciate any ideas to solve this problem

Thank you
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 3587 Offline
[Post New]
There are some video audio files that PD timeline struggles with, when that's the case it's usually easier to just convert the file. HandBrake works good or if PD can play the audio from the media library, sometimes it will then create a proper wav file with the right mouse click and extract audio. This audio can be used in lieu of the video audio.

I often find the conversion process is the better route to avoid lip synch issues.

Jeff
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3035 Online
[Post New]
In addition to Jeff's suggestions, if you're comfortable sharing a short clip, you could upload it to OneDrive or Google Drive and paste the link here. That way other people could examine the details of the clip and try to figure out why PD has trouble with the audio.

Depending on the specifics, there might be an app or codec pack you can install that will let PD play the file without first converting it.

youtube/optodata


DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16 thread i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) HF G30 (HD 60p) + HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
psx2k1 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 25, 2014 00:58 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
Quote There are some video audio files that PD timeline struggles with, when that's the case it's usually easier to just convert the file. HandBrake works good or if PD can play the audio from the media library, sometimes it will then create a proper wav file with the right mouse click and extract audio. This audio can be used in lieu of the video audio.

I often find the conversion process is the better route to avoid lip synch issues.

Jeff


I am extracting the audio as of now, but PD can't even load the audio from the media library.

What you suggest makes sense though, I will look into using HandBrake to convert the file and hopefully PD will be able to recognize the video under a different format.
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 3587 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I am extracting the audio as of now, but PD can't even load the audio from the media library.

What you suggest makes sense though, I will look into using HandBrake to convert the file and hopefully PD will be able to recognize the video under a different format.

That's odd as the extracted audio is just a WAV file if PD handled it correctly. Based on the troubles you're having with this video clip, I'd certainly try to convert with HandBrake to a create a more friendly PD editing version. Just keep the same video details as the original to maintain quality.

Jeff
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team