CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PowerDirector 12 - Cannot create disc, either burning or folder
Reply to this topic
JTB [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jan 02, 2019 04:04 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
My wife and I have digitized some old home videos on VHS and are trying to burn to DVD as a Christmas present for family members. Inevitably it crashes at about 98%, and the last file created seems to be VIDEO_TS.VOB, immediately after VTS_01_0.BUP and VTS_01_0.IFO. Crash logs report as corrupt, but I'm attaching here.

This has failed now on two computers. This has not been a problem previously, as we've followed the same process earlier this year using the same hardware. We are using the Diamond OneTouch Video Caputer USB device for capturing the video signal, and our copy of PowerDirector came with this device.

What other information can I provide to help solve this issue? Any ideas?
 Filename
CrashRpt.xml
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
2 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
36 time(s)
 Filename
MiniDump.dmp
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
282 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
36 time(s)
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5835 Offline
[Post New]
First I would try the same project with no menu.
If that fails, try burning a few sample files to DVD, no menu. Then try with a menu.

Trying to narrow down if you can burn ANYTHING to DVD or folder with or without a menu.

Then try the first half of the timeline, second half.

Delete temp files. My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 2896 Offline
[Post New]
The Read Me Before Posting thread at the top of the forum index page has a list of specific info about your system that's needed for solving tech problems, along with the steps needed to obtain and post the results. However, the XML file you attached has some of that info in it, including your Win10 version and the video driver version for your nVidia GTX 1070 GPU card.

The driver you have installed is a year old, so another thing you can try is to download and install the final driver version that will work with PD12 from this webpage. Do NOT install the latest driver, or anything past this one (411.70), because nVidia changed how all newer drivers interact with software programs, and PD12 will not be able to use the GPU hardware if any newer version is installed.

(BTW if you want to use the new drivers for any reason, you'll need to install PD15, 16 or 17).
youtube/optodata


Director Suite 365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16 thread i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | nVidia 419.35 | ASUS PRIME Z390-A | 6.2TB SSDs | 4TB HDD | 32GB RAM | (12GB RAMDrive)
Reply
JTB [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jan 02, 2019 04:04 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Not sure what the issue is, though I'm inclined to believe at this point that some Windows update has made v12 too old after several days of fighting it. So I bit the bullet and bought v17. Hoping it will solve my problems.

Thanks for the suggestions, frustrating that a software QA guy couldn't get it to work on his own.
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5835 Offline
[Post New]
I just burned a folder of sample images, no problem, I did not use a menu, just a simple folder burn.
Seeing as you already bought PD17, there is no reason to abandon PD12, you can remove the 64bit installer in the PD12 download and install it as 32bit and you'll have access to DivX and lossless compression codecs for both capture and production. My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team