CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Can my Laptop Handle HEVC + H.256
Reply to this topic
jhigg135 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Dec 28, 2018 14:20 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
I am a beginner to video editing (I have been using GoPro studios before upgrade to a new camera)

Short background of situation:

Bought GoPro Hero 7 and tried playing 4K @ 60 FPS on my computer. Nothing happened until I downloaded HVEC video extension. Playback is VERY choppy on every player except MPC-HC (x64) (runs very smooth, no issues). I have had the playback and laggy issues on every video editor I have downloaded also (goPro Quik, VSDC, DaVinci Resolve). I have been told (by GoPro helpdesk) that the problem is my computer (I dont have a 4000 intel graphics chip or something to that matter). If that is so, why can MPC-HC play HVEC + H.256 videos seemlessly?

So my question: Before I put money into a video editing software, will yours work for me or will I be stuck with the same issue with money spent? The free trial will not let me import or export these files for testing.

I have attached my DxDiag for my computer. Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thank you and have a great day!
 Filename
DxDiag Aliendware.txt
[Disk]
 Description
DxDiag
 Filesize
101 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
159 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Dec 28. 2018 14:55

optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3834 Online
[Post New]
Hi, and thanks for posting your (critically important!) DxDiag results. I found a bunch of things to look into, but I have to give you the bad news first - this isn't the right computer if you want to work with HEVC/H.265 clips because neither of your laptop's 2 GPUs have the right hardware. Sorry!

You can still work with and produce HEVC clips, but all the work has to be done by your i7-6700HQ CPU.