Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
AVI quality/size settings
[Post New]
Hi guys,

Forgive me if my question is to obvious or I sound like an ignorant. In fact I am. I am new to video producing. Till now I've only watched them I recently bought my first camcorder (JVC GZ-EX310) and now I try to do all the best of it
I searched forum but I couldn't find any tip.

First of all it is important what I want-to/do-not-want-to do at the moment. I do not need to produce HD movies. I need it to record my meetings and then to cut them to pieces, combine (with some modifications, effects) and produce some summary video of it.

First of all I need my final movie to be of a decent quality and size.
Let's say my final movie is 1 hour long and produced version should be of AVI format, 720x405px (16:9 ratio) picture size and no more than 1GB of file size.

What I can see on Produce tab under AVI is only two FIXED options. Both of them end up with file of 3-4GB in size. Far more then I want it to be.

How do I do it using PD12? Is there any way to change/create custom AVI encoding profile?

Senior Contributor Joined: Jan 08, 2012 11:38 Messages: 709 Offline
[Post New]
Why does it have to be AVI? Standard AVI 16:9 uses 720x480 or 720x576 (PAL) with a 'flag' to play it back widescreen. I see no way to customize the AVI output in PD12. Intel i7 4770k, 16GB, GTX1060 3GB, Two 240GB SSD, 4TB HD, Sony HDR-TD20V 3D camcorder, Sony SLT-A65VK for still images, Windows 10 Pro, 64bit
Gary Russell -- TN USA
[Post New]
Quote: Why does it have to be AVI?
Because it is the most popular format for a range of PC players, accepted by most of youtube-like sites as well. With good size/quality ratio.