CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PowerDirector6.5 problem, file path related.
Reply to this topic
Bob [Avatar]
Member Private Message Location: Canada Joined: Jun 12, 2008 21:50 Messages: 53 Offline
[Post New]
I found a little issue that people should be aware of.
This relates to your media files and where PD6.5 thinks they are.

Basically I'm finding that PD6.5 will not start up if you move the files PD6.5 was last looking at. I came across this when I had created a .pds file with videos that were on my desktop. Then I moved the video files to a back up folder. Then pd6.5 crashed. I had to move the files back to the desktop to get PD6.5 to start up again.

For those interested, here is what to do.
1. Place/copy a video of any kind on your desktop. Use something short in time.
2. Create a folder on your desktop and call it "TEMP".
3. Open PD6.5 and import the video you have on the desktop.
4. Have some fun with this video... add text, add a PIP, what ever...
and then export it as "test.pds" to the desktop.
5. Close PD6.5

So to check, you have your
(a) your video on the desktop.
(b) a folder called "TEMP" on the desktop
(c) a file called "test.pds" on the desktop.


6. Double click on test.pds and ensure it opens up in PD6.5
7. Now close PD6.5
8. Move the video you placed on your desktop to folder "temp".

9. Now try and start PD6.5 or double click on test.pds
PD6.5 won't start up.
That's because the last thing PD was doing was your "test" program and you've now altered the path.

To fix it, you'll have to move the video file out of the temp folder back to the desktop.
If memory serves me right, you may have to reboot your computer.
I moved my files back to the desktop and PD6.5 would not start.
I needed to reboot.


So it is my understanding that when creating .pds files....
Don't move anything until you are done working with that .pds.
Or organize your video & audio files first before pulling them into PD6.5.

If anyone else has something to add...or if I've over looked something,
please add it.

Bob







Reply
McLean1 [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Jul 30, 2006 23:00 Messages: 336 Offline
[Post New]
Bob, I don't have 6.5 so can't test this myself. This must be something just with that program, though because 6 will allow you to browse for the files you moved. In power producer no, but power director yes.
Reply
AnneC [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jan 02, 2017 01:12 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Bob, I don't have 6.5 so can't test this myself. This must be something just with that program, though because 6 will allow you to browse for the files you moved. In power producer no, but power director yes.


Nope, I have PD 13 and it does the same thing. I propose that they all have that behavior.



Anne
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team