CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
bring forward/backwards
Reply to this topic
CJC [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Dec 12, 2013 12:32 Messages: 53 Offline
[Post New]
I've gotta be missing something here. How do I change what video/image/track number is on top of which? It seems the default is 1 is furthest back, and then each track after is on top of the one before it. That's great and all, but I've got an image with a color board behind it. The way this is set up by default, that forces me to put my image on track 2 instead of 1. Now that screws up my transitions, and what I can't figure out at all, is I can't use fx on that picture because it only works on track 1.

What am I missing?
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: I've gotta be missing something here. How do I change what video/image/track number is on top of which? It seems the default is 1 is furthest back, and then each track after is on top of the one before it. That's great and all, but I've got an image with a color board behind it. The way this is set up by default, that forces me to put my image on track 2 instead of 1. Now that screws up my transitions, and what I can't figure out at all, is I can't use fx on that picture because it only works on track 1.

What am I missing?

You cannot change the order of appearance of the tracks in Powerdirector.

There is a rule:
Lower numbered tracks are overlaid by Higher Numbered tracks.

You can change that somewhat by using transparency.

The highest numbered track is always on top of lower numbered tracks. You are correct, Track 1 is on the bottom.

The Title Track is on top of all of the numbered tracks.

Effects work in the track itself. You can put effects on any track. You apply the effect to the video.
You do not have to put every effect in the FX track.

You can put color boards on any track, just be sure the color board is on a lower number track than the Image you want the color behind.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at Feb 08. 2014 18:56

Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Reply
Longedge [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Apr 28, 2011 15:38 Messages: 1504 Offline
[Post New]
You can always do things in stages i.e. create and produce your special effect first as a separate video then put that on the appropriate track with the other stuff.
Reply
[Post New]
Adding to that Carl312 showed, you can change any track position, including the FX range, but should consider the added effect in FX range, will affect all tracks above, it is not common to do this, but it can be done.
To change track, click on the left edge and drag up or down. AMD-FX 8350 / 8GB DDR3
SSD SUV400S37240G / 2-HD WD 1TB
AMD Radeon R9 270 / AOC M2470SWD
Windows 7-64 / PD16 Ultimate
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team