CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Copying from VHS to Digital
Reply to this topic
ponderstibbons
Newbie Private Message Location: Champion Lakes, Western Australia Joined: Jan 19, 2011 08:28 Messages: 42 Offline
[Post New]
Having problems trying to get PD10 to import video. I'm using a D-Link Video Grabber (DUB-AV300).
But PD10 comes up with the message "An error occurred. Unable to prepare for recording".
I did convert quite a bit of old VHS, and also some analog video from my old camera, years ago and for this I used some video editing software that came with the Grabber.
I remember that the bundled software was pretty crap but it did get the videos on to the computer, and then I could import them into the workspace for editing with PD.
But since then have upgraded my computer and can't install the video editing software that came with the Grabber (I've still got the disc and have installed the drivers successfully), as I have lost the Serial Number.
After a Google search I downloaded "AVS" editing software, but then my whole computer became very unstable so I uninstalled it immediately.
So now I'm contemplating just buying a current model video Grabber, but am concerned that this also won't be recognised by PD.
Any suggestions?

One Man, One Vote. The Patrician was the Man, he had the Vote.
Terry Pratchett (Mort).
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6083 Offline
[Post New]
Try Windows Movie Maker, PD will use the created files with no issues. It is not uncommon, or wrong, to use more than 1 software to get where you are going. HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Tape capture using 4 VCR, TBC, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-6
Reply
ponderstibbons
Newbie Private Message Location: Champion Lakes, Western Australia Joined: Jan 19, 2011 08:28 Messages: 42 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks Barry
I downloaded Movie Maker, but the import screen just shows the disc I have in the DVD tray.
I've hit the refresh button but that didn't make any difference. Just not recognising my device.

Device manager shows that my Video Grabber is working correctly, and I have the latest driver.

I'll pop round to Dick Smith's (Australian electronics retailer) tomorrow and pick up a current model, which hopefully will have some useful bundled software with it. One Man, One Vote. The Patrician was the Man, he had the Vote.
Terry Pratchett (Mort).
Reply
ponderstibbons
Newbie Private Message Location: Champion Lakes, Western Australia Joined: Jan 19, 2011 08:28 Messages: 42 Offline
[Post New]
Bought a new converter stick and after a few attempts managed to get the software settings right.
So now I can save the digitised file and import it into PD10. One Man, One Vote. The Patrician was the Man, he had the Vote.
Terry Pratchett (Mort).
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6083 Offline
[Post New]
Excellent! HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Tape capture using 4 VCR, TBC, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-6
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Bought a new converter stick and after a few attempts managed to get the software settings right.
So now I can save the digitised file and import it into PD10.


Hi

Sorry to hijack this thread - but what brand of convertor stick did you buy and where from?

Thanks

Happy editing Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
ponderstibbons
Newbie Private Message Location: Champion Lakes, Western Australia Joined: Jan 19, 2011 08:28 Messages: 42 Offline
[Post New]
I got it from Dick Smith's and the brand name is "Gadget Geek". Cost AUD59.95.
Details on http://dicksmith.com.au/dsau/search/dsau_search_results.jsp?bmForm=search&bmFormID=jubz25I&bmUID=jubz25J&bmIsForm=true&bmPrevTemplate=%2Fdsau%2Fhome.jsp&bmEditable=searchterm&bmHidden=searchterm&searchterm=gadget\u0020geek&bmEditable=search&bmHidden=search&search=&bmEditable=attribute&bmHidden=attribute&attribute=&bmEditable=value&bmHidden=value&value=&bmHidden=searchSubmitted&searchSubmitted=true&bmText=searchInput&searchInput=&bmFields=bmFormID%2CbmHidden%2CbmIsForm%2CbmUID%2CbmForm%2CbmEditable%2CbmPrevTemplate%2CbmText&bmHash=8c25f960734ef8aa78e43b6bfe19b3f3e78cbb88
or if that doesn't work just get on to the web page and search "Gadget Geek" One Man, One Vote. The Patrician was the Man, he had the Vote.
Terry Pratchett (Mort).
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]


Thanks Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team