Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Newbie Q on PD9 Features (which ones are actually useful)
jmone
Senior Contributor Location: Australia Joined: Nov 26, 2010 00:05 Messages: 706 Offline
[Post New]
Hi, Sorry for the Newbie Q. I've been editing home video for the last 10 years (DV, HDV) with Ulead/Corel Video Studio but have moved over to PD9 as it has better 1080/50p 264 support and after a day of playing with PD9 have some questions on what features are useful and what are....well "fluff" (and should be avoided), in particular:

- Magic "Stuff": Does anone actually use these and if so which ones and to what effect (Magic Movie Wizard, Magic Fix, Magic Cut, Magic Style, Magic Music)?
- Effects Wall: Lots here and many are "dramatic" and while they could be good for specific effects occasionally are any frequently used?
- Transition Tool: I was happy with a simple Fade (if any), any other popular everyday transitions to consider?

I'm sure there is more! Thanks for helping
Nathan

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Nov 28. 2010 03:53

PD 64 Bit-Win10 64 Bit-32GB RAM-80TB HDD
Sony FX6 - 500Mbps 4k/50p AVC-I HLG
Canon XF400 - 150Mbps 4k/50p AVC
GoPro Hero6 Black
Pana HS700-28Mbps 1080/50p AVC (High@L4.2)
Canon HV20-HDV 25Mbps 16:9 1440x1080/25p MPEG
Robert2 S
Senior Contributor Location: Australia Joined: Apr 22, 2009 05:57 Messages: 1461 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Nathan,

You hit the nail on the head with serious video editors. Magic stuff, particle effects and numerous fades are for the newbies.

You will rarely see these fancy effects in good quality videos, most of them are fluff. I will say though I do like X-ray and emboss when used sparingly :