Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Best Graphic card for fast previews
Alon Gutman [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Dec 25, 2019 10:14 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
I'm a newbie in video editing, so pardon my lack of knowledge.

I want to start using PD18 in order to edit multicam projects like this one:
https://youtu.be/44Pq_9bG15w?t=24

We're talking about up to 30 FHD tracks playing simultaneously.

Smooth preview without lagging is one of my main concerns.

The PC, which I'm about to buy will have the following configuration:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard: - Something based on the x570 chipset. Probably Asus PRIME X570-P
RAM: DDR4 3200Ghz 16GBx2 CL14

My question is about a graphics card.
Since none of the NVIDIA cards run on PCIe4.0 yet, I was thinking of getting the AMD RX5700 XT 8GB, which does run on PCIe4.0.
But as far as I understood, Radeon cards don't support OpenCL?
So would it be a better idea to get an NVIDIA card after all (even though we're talking about PCIe3.0), and if so, which card would you recommend for such projects?
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 6464 Offline
[Post New]
See this article: https://www.geeks3d.com/20181220/how-to-enable-intel-opencl-support-on-windows-when-amd-radeon-graphics-driver-is-installed/ . The open cl is not affected with an amd cpu.
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 6091 Offline
[Post New]
Quote We're talking about up to 30 FHD tracks playing simultaneously.

Smooth preview without lagging is one of my main concerns.