Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Beginner Questions
Jorodi25 [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Dec 28, 2011 22:26 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,

I'm new to video editing and am considering purchasing PowerDirector 10. Before I buy, I'm hoping someone can help answer a few basic questions to make sure everything should work properly.

1. Will my computer be able to comfortably edit and burn HD videos taken with a Sony HDR-CX160 camcorder? Also, will it be able to take advantage of the fast rendering capabilities of PowerDirector? The specs are:
- Windows 7, 64 bit
- Intel Core i7, 930 @ 2.80 GHz, 2801 Mhz, 4 Cores, 8 Logical Processors
- 9GB DDR3 RAM
- 1.5 TB Hard Drive
- NVIDIA GeForce GT 420 graphics card

2. Can PowerDirector transfer the videos from my camcorder to my computer without degrading the quality? Or should I use the software that came with the camera for this purpose?

3. Is PowerDirector able to work with the following recording modes?
- AVC HD (28 Mbps)
- AVC HD (24 Mbps)
- AVC HD (17 Mbps)

4. Related to #3, is there a noticeable difference in quality between 28 Mbps and 24 Mbps?

5. Am I correct in understanding that videos recorded in 1920x1080/60p will not be able to be burned to Blu-ray discs? If so, is there any reason to record in 60p if my main objective is to view the videos on TV via burned Blu-ray discs?

6. Is there a noticeable difference in the quality of videos recorded in 1080p vs 1080i?

7. My current TV is not compliant with x.v.Color, but I may be upgrading soon to one that is. If I record videos with x.v.Color, how will they appear on my current TV that is not compliant?