CyberLink Community Forum
YouCam3 image with Skype is very dark  XML
Forum Index » YouCam
Author Message
MERYL

Newbie

Joined: 27/12/2009 20:42:02
Messages: 7
Offline

Several problems with YouCam3 and Skype.
1. The display is fine when YouCam 3 is run on it's own, but when used in Skype video call, the image is almost black and can't be seen at all. The video setting options also will not work there to brighten up the image. I know it's not my video device because when I select the default "usb video device" in Skype instead of YouCam3, the image displayed is just fine. (of course then I can't use any of the YouCam3 effects at all )

2. When YouCam is used in Skype video, it starts and stops intermittently, blanking out the skype window and sometimes crashing skype. I can't seem to control when the effects screen decides to display.

3. When the effects screen displays in Skype, sometimes the effects work and sometimes they don't.

This product just doesn't seem to work very well at all. I hope there will soon be an upgrade that will address the use of this product with Skype as I seem to not be the only one with problems.
d

Newbie

Joined: 28/12/2009 09:51:01
Messages: 2
Offline

my cam is dark..not good at all, rubbish quality using it in msn and skype, half of my setting are blanked out, my cam looks black and white, laptop is 2 days old.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 28/12/2009 09:55:57

CLD

Contributor

Joined: 22/03/2007 23:05:05
Messages: 516
Location: 新店區台灣
Offline

Hello,

When this happens, try doing the following:

1. Click on the Enhance video image button.

2. Click on Advanced.

3. In your webcam's properties window, click on a "Default" settings button. It will vary depending on your cam.

Regards,
David
MERYL

Newbie

Joined: 27/12/2009 20:42:02
Messages: 7
Offline

Thanks, I've tried this more than several times, both in the skype options and in the youcam3 settings, and it doesn't work to lighten the image in either place. I tried using the defalts, and also changing each of the settings myself, but nothing seems to have much of an effect. The thing is, the USB Video Driver works perfectly in skype and all of the setting adjustments work as well, but with the cyberlink youcam video filter selected, the image is just dark and cannot be adjusted.

Any other suggestions?

Youcam version 1 apparently does not use it's own overlay filter for the webcam and therefore does not darken the image in skype. I think the problem clearly is your filter software for YouCam3 just doesn't work very well and needs to be fixed.

This is extremely frustrating to me since the webcam software for other integrated webcam systems such as Dell's works just perfectly, but as an HP Pavilion user, I don't seem to have any choice other than this Cyberlink software to manage my webcam. Also, there seem to be no other webcam drivers available for my Pavilioin that would allow me to use different software.

If Cyberlink can't fix this problem, it seems that I'm just stuck with using the straight USB Video Device in Skype with no other effects to play with.
If Cyberlink can't address this problem (and so far no answer has been provided to my tech support ticket) I'll just revert back to YouCam 1 (the free preinstalled version), ask for my money back from Cyberlink for the crappy upgrade (really a downgrade at this point), and buy a Dell next time.
vn800rider

Senior Contributor

Joined: 15/05/2008 01:32:11
Messages: 1765
Location: York, UK
Offline

Hi Meryl,

I don't use YouCam at all but I have used several webcam virtual drivers allowing my webcam(s) to be used in several applications simultaneously. Whether they will work for you I don't know, but for instance ManyCam (freeware) allows some effects, dynamic and static backgrounds, streaming video files, desktop view etc. not the same as youcam but maybe helps until it's sorted??

Cheers
Adrian

He dreamt of all the underwater sights he would capture with his new camera and housing. AMD Phenom X6, Win 7 64bit, ATI 4650.


CLD

Contributor

Joined: 22/03/2007 23:05:05
Messages: 516
Location: 新店區台灣
Offline

Hi Meryl,

Can you provide us with the following info:

1. YouCam 3 build number (To get this number, click on the YouCam logo on the top left and then provide the two numbers for "YouCam:" and "SR number:"
2. SKYPE version
3. Webcam model number and driver version.

This would be helpful.

Regards,
David

MERYL

Newbie

Joined: 27/12/2009 20:42:02
Messages: 7
Offline

To Adrian, Yes, I've tried ManyCam and although it had a few nice effects features, I uninstalled it because it only seemed to degrade the image further (probably because it's yet another overlay filter).

To David, thanks for any help you can provide on this - I will get the info you've requested and post it here in a few minutes....
Meryl
MERYL

Newbie

Joined: 27/12/2009 20:42:02
Messages: 7
Offline

Hi David,
Here is the info you've asked for...

YouCam3: 3.0.2219 (standard)
SR number: YUC091026-01

Skype version: 4.1.0.179

Webcam is an HP Pavilion dv9700 integrated device (just says HP Webcam) with info from the device manager as follows:
Driver provider: Microsoft
Driver Date: 6/21/2006
Driver Version 6.0.6001.18000

Device Description is simply "USB Video Device"
Hardware IDs are: USB\VID_0C45&PID_62C0&REV_5216&MI_00
USB\VID_0C45&PID_62C0&MI_00

There are a whole lot of other bits of info in the driver details page, such as compatible id's:
USB\Class_0e&SubClass_03&Prot_00
USB\Class_0e&SubClass_03
USB\Class_0e

I have searched the internet for newer compatible drivers for this device but cannot find any (but then I'm not really a techie, I just play one on TV).

Also just in case this helps, I am running Windows Vista home premium - version 6.0 (build 6002: sp2)

Please let me know if you need anything else.
By the way, Cyberlink has not responded to my technical support complaint yet - do you work for Cyberlink support or are you just a very kind soul?

Thanks for your help,
Meryl
MERYL

Newbie

Joined: 27/12/2009 20:42:02
Messages: 7
Offline

Just received an answer from Cyberlink Tech Support, but it was NO HELP AT ALL!!! They just gave me some basic "end-user" type steps to try as follows...

"I suggest you to first install your webcamera properly. After that open Skype, go to tools -> options -> video
and
1. Check "Enable Skype Video"
2. Select Webcam.
For CyberLink YouCam, select "CyberLink Web Camera Filter".
3. Check "Start my video automatically" under 'When I'm in a call"
4. Click on Save. "

If they had actually read my full problem report, they would have known that my webcam must already be installed correctly or the "USB Video Device" selection would not work with skype at all. Anyway, I did re-do all as suggested but have the very same problem. THIS IS A SOFTWARE PROBLEM and with all the complaints about this very same thing on the internet, you'd think they recognize that and work on fixing it.

Hopefully David, you can offer some real advice. Thanks!
CLD

Contributor

Joined: 22/03/2007 23:05:05
Messages: 516
Location: 新店區台灣
Offline

Hi Meryl,

Yes I work at CL in Taiwan. I have passed this information on to the customer support and RD team here. Which is different than the tech support people you contacted.

I will let you know what they find and if they have any suggestions. Hopefully soon.

Regards,

David
MERYL

Newbie

Joined: 27/12/2009 20:42:02
Messages: 7
Offline

Thanks very much David,
I'll be on the lookout for your reply and any help you can offer.
Best regards,
Meryl
MERYL

Newbie

Joined: 27/12/2009 20:42:02
Messages: 7
Offline

Gave up on YouCam 3 after not getting anywhere with Cyberlink support and requested refund. Reverted back to YouCam 1 which came preinstalled in my HP Pavilion, then found YouCam version 2 on the HP Support site and installed that.

Both free versions of YouCam 1 & 2 work ok with Skype on my laptop - at least as far as the displayed image being bright and clear. I'm staying with version 2 even thought it sometimes crashes Skype when using the avatar effects.

I don't know what kind of filter Cyberlink added to YouCam 3, but it totally darkens the image displayed from my WebCam. Maybe someday they'll acknowledge this, fix it, and I'll try it again, but for now, I'm sticking with the free YouCam version 2.
Prj

Newbie

Joined: 23/02/2012 14:06:33
Messages: 3
Offline

d wrote:my cam is dark..not good at all, rubbish quality using it in msn and skype, half of my setting are blanked out, my cam looks black and white, laptop is 2 days old.



Visit:
www.notechheadaches.blogspot.in/
For the solution:

Its just because of a minor config issue.

Prj

Newbie

Joined: 23/02/2012 14:06:33
Messages: 3
Offline

I too had the same problem..

The Solution is here..Its Just a 7 step solution and Your webcam will be back to normal again

www.notechheadaches.blogspot.in/

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 23/02/2012 14:12:44

Tyomni

Newbie
[Avatar]
Joined: 12/12/2011 09:31:19
Messages: 50
Offline

cool link I have found many useful tips there.
Prj

Newbie

Joined: 23/02/2012 14:06:33
Messages: 3
Offline

Tyomni wrote:cool link I have found many useful tips there.


Thanks bro!
 
Forum Index » YouCam
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team
© 2013 CyberLink Corp. All Rights Reserved. [ Terms of Services | About CyberLink | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map RSS