CyberLink Community Forum
PowerDirector 7 will record Video but not Audio  XML
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Author Message
Loki

Newbie

Joined: 09/07/2009 12:14:43
Messages: 5
Offline

Hello,
I have a USB Capture device that I use with my Sony Camcorder, I am running Windows Vista and PowerDirector 7. When I go to Capture Video, it will allow me to Record the Video but not the Audio. I tried another program and it allowed me to record both video and audio. I like PowerDirector better but I can't get it to record audio which is important. If I could get some help that would be really great and I would be most appreciative. Thanks in advance.
ynotfish

Senior Contributor

Joined: 07/05/2009 23:06:52
Messages: 6103
Location: N.S.W. Australia
Offline

Hi Loki -

Have you tried Importing (media files), rather than "capturing"? Maybe that could make a difference, but I don't have a single clue why.

Cheers -

Tony


Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Cranston

Senior Contributor

Joined: 16/08/2007 23:26:31
Messages: 1626
Location: USA
Offline

Hi Loki,

This is a long shot here, but…
I have analog audio USB capture device (to capture audio from a cassette and phonograph player), that if I don’t have the sound profile properly set, won’t record any audio.

What I have to do when I use it, is to go to…
Start > Control Panel (classic view) > Sounds and Audio Devices > Audio (I then set both record and playback to “USB Device”) > Voice (I then set both record and playback to “USB Device”)
And now my audio capture device will work.

I don’t know if this will also apply to, or help with, your video capturing process and the missing audio, but as it is also a USB capturing device… it might?


Click here PDtoots for a collection of PowerDirector Tutorials and Tips
[WWW]
Loki

Newbie

Joined: 09/07/2009 12:14:43
Messages: 5
Offline

I am trying to capture video from a Camcorder so I don't think importing will work. I tried changing the Audio preferences, I can get audio but it isn't actual audible. I have turned the record/input volume all the way up and you can still barely hear it. Ulead works just fine. I guess I will have to capture it using Ulead and edit using PowerDirector. The only bad part is PowerDirector gives me better video quality.
Cranston

Senior Contributor

Joined: 16/08/2007 23:26:31
Messages: 1626
Location: USA
Offline

Hi Loki,

OK, here's another thought, though it may not be a better solution than using Ulead to capture, if PD7 doesn't give you usable audio.
(BTW, in PD7, you do have the Master Volume and the audio sliders/faders in the Audio Room set to maximum, right?)

If you do have some (barely audible) audio in the clip (when you capture with PD7), you might try to right click on the clip while it's up in the library, and choose Extract Audio. This will create a separate .wav audio only file of the video clip. Then export that .wav file to an outside audio editor to see if you can boost the volume. Then, if that yields acceptable results, import that new boosted audio file back into PD7 and place it in one of the audio tracks directly under you clip in the timeline.

You could also try Extracting the audio from the Ulead capture, once placed in PD7's library, and use that audio (as described above), with the PD7 captured video. Though sync issues may arise in trying to do it that way.

I know what you're thinking Loki, and the answer is yes. I do build very complicated mouse traps, hahaha.
Hopefully a more knowledgeable member will chime in with a better solution.

Good Luck.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 09/07/2009 20:05:14


Click here PDtoots for a collection of PowerDirector Tutorials and Tips
[WWW]
ynotfish

Senior Contributor

Joined: 07/05/2009 23:06:52
Messages: 6103
Location: N.S.W. Australia
Offline

Loki -

I don't profess to know much, but it doesn't sound too hard really.

Plug in the device. Go to My Computer and locate the device. Open it and find the files you want. Drag them into a folder of you choice. Open PD. Click on Import media. Locate the folder with the files. Click on them and they will be in the library!

If you do all that and the sound is missing, well - er - um - there may be something odd about the file... yet it imports into your other editor.

I'd say it's worth a try.

Cheers -

Tony


Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Cranston

Senior Contributor

Joined: 16/08/2007 23:26:31
Messages: 1626
Location: USA
Offline

Hi Tony & Loki, (sounds a like comedy team from the 50's)

I think I have totally misinterpreted Loki's situation here. I was assuming, since a USB capture device is in this equation, that Loki is try to capture analog video from an analog video camera (in lieu of using a vcr).

Sorry guys.

Click here PDtoots for a collection of PowerDirector Tutorials and Tips
[WWW]
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 10368
Offline

Loki,
What's the camera, make = Sony, but what's the model?

This is important.

Thanks

Dafydd

For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
Loki

Newbie

Joined: 09/07/2009 12:14:43
Messages: 5
Offline

You are correct Cranston I am trying to record video from an Analog video camera to my computer. I am using a Sony CCD-TRV108 Camcorder and a EASYCAP USB 2.0 Video Audio TV VHS DVD Capture Adapter. I have no way to Import the video because I have not captured it yet. That is what I am trying to do. I will see if I can export the Audio and use Sound Recorder or a similar program to edit the wav file. I know we can get this figured out soon. : )
vn800rider

Senior Contributor

Joined: 15/05/2008 01:32:11
Messages: 1765
Location: York, UK
Offline

Hi Loki,

Might be worth checking that your soundcard drivers are up to date?

There is definitely a range of opinion out there as to the ease of use but there are also some utube videos on it.

Cheers
Adrian

He dreamt of all the underwater sights he would capture with his new camera and housing. AMD Phenom X6, Win 7 64bit, ATI 4650.


ynotfish

Senior Contributor

Joined: 07/05/2009 23:06:52
Messages: 6103
Location: N.S.W. Australia
Offline

Sorry Loki -

I didn't read your post properly at all. No wonder I couldn't see what the problem was! Cranston - why didn't you just tell me? You're way too polite brother! My apologies anyway.

If Ulead is able to capture the audio & video, doesn't that indicate that the camera + capture device + PC combination is working? I'll leave it as a question because I don't have an answer... apart from that really good answer I put before to the wrong question

Cheers -

Tony

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 10/07/2009 14:16:28



Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 10368
Offline

PD7 has an issue with Hi8 - no longer supported.

Using the adapter is the solution.

EasyCap USB2.0 Video Adapter with Audio.

Please check your audio settings on your PC for the USB device. Looks to me the issue is pretty small and to do with the selection.

Once you have the video on your computer it can be found and edited by PD.

Dafydd


For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
ynotfish

Senior Contributor

Joined: 07/05/2009 23:06:52
Messages: 6103
Location: N.S.W. Australia
Offline

Now THAT'S an answer!

Dafydd - I'll have to stop looking at this screen - I was sure I just saw that little green light flickering on and off...

Tony


Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Loki

Newbie

Joined: 09/07/2009 12:14:43
Messages: 5
Offline

Thanks for the info Dafydd, That should help out alot. Perhaps I should try an older version of PD. or maybe better yet just get a new camera. Thanks for the help guys.
JL_JL

Senior Contributor

Joined: 01/10/2006 17:01:27
Messages: 1701
Location: Arizona, USA
Offline

Just a thought, I assume you are using the S-Video jack, if so, remember you must also use the red/white (left, right) RCA jacks too. A friend of mine a while ago thought it was RCA or Svideo but Svideo does not support audio.

Jeff
Loki

Newbie

Joined: 09/07/2009 12:14:43
Messages: 5
Offline

I am just using the RC jacks yellow/red/white. I am not using the S-Video for some reason the video quality is poor using the S-video.
Tara

Newbie

Joined: 05/03/2010 14:36:05
Messages: 1
Offline

I am having the same issue where I am wanting to combine 2 small 30 minutes home movie discs into one. I was able to capture both of them but cannot get the audio in it. Can anyone please help me?
 
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team
© 2013 CyberLink Corp. All Rights Reserved. [ Terms of Services | About CyberLink | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map RSS