Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Capturing / Converting VHS tapes ?
albertgarrido [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: May 09, 2017 09:13 Messages: 10 Offline
[Post New]
I have a dozen or so VCR tapes that I'd like to convert to digital format and create DVD's out of. Believe it or not, I still do have an old VCR!!

A couple of questions that hopefully someone can help me with.

1. Any suggestions on which video signal converter would work well with PD15 and Windows 10?

2. When I click on "Capture" on PD15, I don't see option for VCR.......what would I use then...do I use the "Capture from CamCorder"

Any suggestions and tips would be GREATLY appreciated!!

PS I'm very new to PD and video editing in general but after doing my first video production...I'm starting to really enjoy this!

Thank you!

Al
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6240 Offline
[Post New]
I use a Hauppage device which is very dependable. From VCR>Hauppage>USB port.
I can use it with any software, including PD capture. The signal appear as TV Signal in PD.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at May 16. 2017 15:08

HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)
Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5.
Tape capture using 6 VCR, TBC-1000, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/BarryAFTT
pmikep [Avatar]
Senior Member Joined: Nov 26, 2016 22:51 Messages: 285 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I use a Hauppage device which is very dependable. From VCR>Hauppage>USB port.
I can use it with any software, including PD capture. The signal appear as TV Signal in PD.