Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
how to crop, move down, and add top/bottom black bands, while preserving aspect ratio?
Dave524 [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Dec 01, 2015 01:21 Messages: 20 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,

I'm a newbie to PD14 (just recently bought the full version after playing with the trial version), but have done some editing off and on with open source tools (ex. VirtualDub, AviSynth) over the past number of years. I've searched through the forums on this question, found a few tips, but so far have been unable to accomplish what I'd like, and I'm hoping someone can quickly describe how to do things, or point me to a tutorial.

What I want to do seems relatively simple:

1. Crop the "network crawl" ("n" lines) from the bottom of a video clip and replace it with black.

2. Move the entire clip "down" so that "n/2" black lines are left on the bottom, and that "n/2" black lines are added to the top.

I want to preserve the aspect ratio (16:9) throughout the entire process. I have a number of clips with the same "crawl" that I'd like to do this with, so if there's a way to do the above across multiple clips I'd love to know that as well.

I've looked at the PD PowerTools Crop/Zoom and the Mask features, but haven't yet been able to make much headway - although it feels like I'm poking around the right areas.

I've loved everything I've discovered about PD14 so far, and am hoping that continues with what I want to do here. Let me know if there's any more information I can provide.

Thanks for providing a forum (literally) where new PD users like me can come!

Dave B.
ynotfish