CyberLink Community Forum
RE: Please help - green screen on timeline  XML
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Author Message
Coralie

Newbie

Joined: 19/04/2013 16:24:36
Messages: 9
Offline

Hi total newbie here. I put together a little video from a group of videos (thought I was brilliant!). Went to produce and thought I'd try it with a theme, however then cancelled. If I open up the project all comes up ok and seems ok except when I go to play through the timeline or storybook. All I get is a green screen in the top right and nothing plays. The little red line that normally moves through the timeline doesn't move either. Please help. Thanks in advance. Coralie.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 19/04/2013 16:34:53

Jaime-esque

Senior Contributor

Joined: 24/08/2009 17:40:52
Messages: 2624
Location: Tennessee
Offline

Often, it will help to save the project, then close and reopen.
[WWW]
Coralie

Newbie

Joined: 19/04/2013 16:24:36
Messages: 9
Offline

No, that didn't work
Jaime-esque

Senior Contributor

Joined: 24/08/2009 17:40:52
Messages: 2624
Location: Tennessee
Offline

Is QuickTime or other codec package installed? Attach a copy of you dxdiag.txt and we will have a loom.
[WWW]
Thomas1956

Newbie

Joined: 07/04/2013 08:20:33
Messages: 2
Offline

I had similar problem, then updated drivers for display adapters(graphics) via device manager and then it worked...
Coralie

Newbie

Joined: 19/04/2013 16:24:36
Messages: 9
Offline

I have done the diagnostic test. Is it safe for me to copy and paste here? Seems to have information on it about my computer. Thanks. Coralie
Coralie

Newbie

Joined: 19/04/2013 16:24:36
Messages: 9
Offline

Thomas1956 wrote:I had similar problem, then updated drivers for display adapters(graphics) via device manager and then it worked...


Hi thank you. Had a look - went to device manager, then clicked on display adapters but didn't see anywhere to update. Cheers. Coralie.
borgus1

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/02/2013 21:33:47
Messages: 1080
Offline

Coralie wrote:
Thomas1956 wrote:I had similar problem, then updated drivers for display adapters(graphics) via device manager and then it worked...


Hi thank you. Had a look - went to device manager, then clicked on display adapters but didn't see anywhere to update. Cheers. Coralie.


Double-click on the name of the display adapter or select it and click PROPERTIES. Click the DRIVER tab. There you will see an "update driver" choice.

Often, a driver downloaded from the card or chip manufacturer's WEB site - such as NVidia - can be simply double-clicked, to install.
Coralie

Newbie

Joined: 19/04/2013 16:24:36
Messages: 9
Offline

borgus1 wrote:
Coralie wrote:
Thomas1956 wrote:I had similar problem, then updated drivers for display adapters(graphics) via device manager and then it worked...


Hi thank you. Had a look - went to device manager, then clicked on display adapters but didn't see anywhere to update. Cheers. Coralie.


Double-click on the name of the display adapter or select it and click PROPERTIES. Click the DRIVER tab. There you will see an "update driver" choice.

Often, a driver downloaded from the card or chip manufacturer's WEB site - such as NVidia - can be simply double-clicked, to install.


Thank you - did as instructed. Came back as all is up to date.
Thomas1956

Newbie

Joined: 07/04/2013 08:20:33
Messages: 2
Offline

I suspect even though my computer specs exceed the requirements of PD11....It might be worth the cost to upgrade to a dedicated video graphics card....it might heip soive many of the stall,hang and crash issues, and "green screens" too!....maybe then i could actually accomplish something?....
Coralie

Newbie

Joined: 19/04/2013 16:24:36
Messages: 9
Offline

Thomas1956 wrote:I suspect even though my computer specs exceed the requirements of PD11....It might be worth the cost to upgrade to a dedicated video graphics card....it might heip soive many of the stall,hang and crash issues, and "green screens" too!....maybe then i could actually accomplish something?....


So are you suggesting that after paying for this program and spending hours putting my little clip together, that the graphics card on this new ultrabook laptop that I've just brought ($AU900) should possibly be updated??? After spending so much money I would have thought this laptop should cope. The details of the graphics driver is Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 Version 9.17.10.2817

Cheers Coralie
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 10384
Offline

Hi Coralie ,
Please provide a full diagnostic of your laptop and more information of the content of your project.
1. Diagnostic File
2. Screenshot - full screen of the Edit Workspace
3. MediaInfo of the video you are editing.
http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/en Create a text file and attach to your reply.

Please use the Guide Part A, B, E & F: http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/24771.page

Greenscreen issues. This issue can be triggered by a number of possibles.
a) Graphic Card drivers.
b) Inadequately powered graphics card.
c) Missing Codec
d) Corrupted Player/or not an up to date QT player.

Providing the diagnostic of your computer will give members nearly all the information to assess whether it is adequate or needs to be improved upon to overcome your green screen issues.

Dafydd

For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
Coralie

Newbie

Joined: 19/04/2013 16:24:36
Messages: 9
Offline

Hi, have attached diagnostic test and project. I can change subtitles, but just have a green screen and the arrow doesn't move over the time line. I just get a green screen. I can produce what I've done and burn it to a disc, but just can't change the timeline. As mentioned, it was working ok before until I interrupted it producing a movie with a theme. Cheers Coralie.
 Filename DxDiag.txt [Disk] Download
 Description Diagnostic Test
 Filesize 74 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  111 time(s)

 Filename giantdogballFINAL.pds [Disk] Download
 Description Project
 Filesize 987 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  84 time(s)

Dave456

Senior Member

Joined: 30/10/2010 03:46:21
Messages: 277
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Offline

Hi Coralie,

Your video driver is a little old, version 9.17.0010.2817 dated 7/29/2012, you can check here for an update http://www.intel.com/p/en_US/support/detect

Dave

Forum Moderator: Link edited and should work. A full stop at the end of the link caused the problem. 3x. Please read my following posts.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 24/04/2013 09:09:24


PowerDirector 10 Ultra 32-bit ver. 10.0.0.3625
PowerDirector 11 Ultra 64-bit ver. 11.0.0.3625
PhotoDirector 2011 Deluxe ver. 2.0.2105
PhotoDirector 3 Deluxe OEM 3.0.3618
PhotoDirector 4 HE 4.0.4317.0
Cyberlink Power2Go Deluxe 7.0.0.1827
Canon Vixia HF R100
Canon PowerShot SX40HS

[Yahoo!] [MSN]
Coralie

Newbie

Joined: 19/04/2013 16:24:36
Messages: 9
Offline

Ok. Thanks. Clicked on that link that you suggested and came up with "page not found"
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 10384
Offline

Post above edited: The full stop has been removed and the link is now active.

FYI. Intel HD 4000 driver v9.17.10.2817 may cause the green issue. And this green screen
issue has been fixed in Intel driver v9.17.10.2843

Forum Moderator

For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
Dave456

Senior Member

Joined: 30/10/2010 03:46:21
Messages: 277
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Offline

That's odd, it works here!

PowerDirector 10 Ultra 32-bit ver. 10.0.0.3625
PowerDirector 11 Ultra 64-bit ver. 11.0.0.3625
PhotoDirector 2011 Deluxe ver. 2.0.2105
PhotoDirector 3 Deluxe OEM 3.0.3618
PhotoDirector 4 HE 4.0.4317.0
Cyberlink Power2Go Deluxe 7.0.0.1827
Canon Vixia HF R100
Canon PowerShot SX40HS

[Yahoo!] [MSN]
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 10384
Offline

Hi Dave456 ,
I edited your link in your post - removing the full stop.
Dafydd

For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
borgus1

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/02/2013 21:33:47
Messages: 1080
Offline

Coralie wrote:Ok. Thanks. Clicked on that link that you suggested and came up with "page not found"


The link is good here. Perhaps the site was down when you tried. Cut and paste, for best accuracy.
Coralie

Newbie

Joined: 19/04/2013 16:24:36
Messages: 9
Offline

Access Denied (policy_denied)


Your system policy has denied access to the requested URL.


Link now worked. I had to download the Activex and turn off the pop up blocker, but the above is what happened. I am on Windows 8. Totally not sure what to do from here. Cheers Coralie.
borgus1

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/02/2013 21:33:47
Messages: 1080
Offline

Coralie wrote:
Link now worked. I had to download the Activex and turn off the pop up blocker, but the above is what happened. I am on Windows 8. Totally not sure what to do from here.


I suggest that you visit the page and let their driver detection utility recommend whether you need an update.
http://www.intel.com/p/en_US/support/detect

If so, follow the instructions. It will likely offer a download - perhaps v9.17.10.2843 as Dafydd suggested.
If this is the case, download to a convenient folder, then double-click on the file to install.

Should troubles arise, go to the device manager DRIVER tab you visited earlier. There's an option to "roll back" to the earlier driver.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 24/04/2013 16:36:48

the King

Member

Joined: 30/06/2010 01:10:12
Messages: 125
Offline

VGA driver issue usally causes green screen because HW decode, in case you can't get new driver (some brand computers), turn off HW decode might be a temp solution.
 
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team
© 2013 CyberLink Corp. All Rights Reserved. [ Terms of Services | About CyberLink | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map RSS